Friday, March 06, 2015

Advertise with us

Vesely, Sohrt earn first team honors

By by albert alvarado
Dec. 5, 2010 at 6:05 a.m.
Updated Dec. 6, 2010 at 6:06 a.m.

TAPPS Div. I, Distict 2 First Team Offense

Andrew Reue OL, St. Michaels, SR

Andrew Caballero, OL, St. Michaels, SR

Carey Parker, OL, Central Catholic, SR

Joe Barajas, OL, Holy Cross, SR

Shaun Maloney, OL, St. Michaels, SR

Dexter Haskins, OL, Central Catholic, SR

Cameron Torres, OL, St. Joseph Brownsville, SR

Blaire Sullivan, QB, Central Catholic, SR

Luke Seeker, RB, St. Michaels, SR

AJ Saucedo, RB, Central Catholic, SR

Claudio Ramirez, RB, St. Joseph Brownsville, SR

Tyler Cardenas, RB, Holy Cross, JR

DJ Kirkendoll, RB, Holy Cross, JR

Jake Tingle, WR, Central Catholic, JR

James Stark, WR, Holy Cross, SR

Aaron Tuttle, WR, Central Catholic, SR

Mark Hernandez, WR, Holy Cross, SR

Hayden Veseley, WR, St. Joseph Victoria, SR

J D Hernandez, ATH, Holy Cross, SR

Patrick Sohrt, K, St. Joseph Victoria, SR

TAPPS Div. I, District 2 First Team Defense

Brett Peters, DL, St. Michaels, SR

Andrew Reue, DL, St. Michaels, SR

Cameron McCarthy, DL, St. Michaels, SR

Matt Morales, DL, Central Catholic, SR

Andrew Gonzaba, DL, Central Catholic, SR

Nick Neff, DL, Holy Cross, JR

Brett Carlton, LB, St. Michaels, SR

Nick Elder, LB, Central Catholic, SR

Nolan Suris, LB, Central Catholic, SR

David Leal, LB, Holy Cross, SR

Hayden Vesely, LB, St. Joseph Victoria, SR

Manuel Hurtado, LB, Holy Cross, JR

JP Sanchez, DB, Central Catholic, SR

Josh Elizondo, DB, Holy Cross, SR

AJ Saucedo, DB, Central Catholic, SR

Jake Tingle, DB, Central Catholic, SR

Ernest Danache, DB, St. Joseph Brownsville, SR

John Libby, DB, Holy Cross, JR

Jeff Blum, DB, St. Anthony, SR

S. Moeller, DB, Antonian, SR

Claudio Ramirez, P, St. Joseph Brownsville, SR

TAPPS Div. I, District 2 Second Team Offense

Corey Chambers-Thompson, OL, Central Catholic SR

Carlos Chapa, OL, Holy Cross, SR

Phillip Dustin, OL, St. Joseph Brownsville, JR

Wade Perry, OL, St. Joseph Victoria, SR

Cesar Benavides, OL, Antonian, SR

Taylor Thompson, OL, St. Anthony, SR

Lukas Schiraldi, QB, St. Michaels, SR

Ryan Longoria, QB, St. Joseph Victoria, SR

Ernesto Denache, RB, St. Joseph Brownsville, SR

D. Martinez, RB, Antonian, SR

Michael Akers, RB, St. Anthony, JR

Jon Hennessey, RB, St. Joseph Victoria, SR

Sam Romero, WR, Holy Cross, JR

Luke Bohmfalk, WR, St. Michaels, JR

Austin Coffey, WR, St. Michaels, SR

Alec Parker, WR, Central Catholic, SO

Brad Matthiews, WR, St. Joseph Victoria, SR

Daniel Gutierrez, WR, St. Joseph Brownsville, SO

Luciano Villanueva, ATH, Antonian, SR

Jason Lewis, K, Antonian, JR

TAPPS Div. I, District 2 Second Team Defense

Rodrigo Burberg, DL, Brownsville St. Joseph, SR

Sebi Molinas, DL, Brownsville St. Joseph, JR

Troy Bulgrin, DL, Antonian, SR

Matt Balderas, DL, Holy Cross, SR

Matt Perez, DL, Victoria St. Joseph, SO

Paul Garcia, LB, Central Catholic, JR

Raymond Hickson, LB, Holy Cross, SO

Dustin Phillip, LB, Brownvsille St. Joseph, JR

Claudio Ramirez, LB, Brownsville St. Joseph, SR

Diego Najeria, LB, Brownsville St. Joseph, JR

Sterling Holmes, LB, Antonian, SO

Leander Gonzales, LB, St. Anthony, SR

Sam Followwill, DB, Victoria St. Joseph, SR

Brad Matthiews, DB, Victoria St. Joseph, SR

Luciano Villanueva, DB, Antonian, SR

Walker Drewett, DB, St. Michaels, SO

Ryan Lamarre, DB, St. Michaels, SR

Mario Castillon, DB, Brownsville St. Joseph, SR

Patrick Sohrt, K, Victoria St. Joseph, SR

Offensive Honorable Mentions:

Sam Followill, running back

Kyle VanSickle, offensive lineman

Bradley Matthiews, wide receiver

Defensive Honorable Mentions:

Charles VanSickle, linebacker

They had to adjust to a new district and a new coach, but the St. Joseph Flyers still managed to carry over their all-district success this season.

Hayden Vesely and Patrick Sohrt were named to the TAPPS Div. I, District 2 first teams and eight other Flyers picked up second team and honorable mentions.

Vesely was named to both the first team offense and defense as a wide receiver and linebacker.

Sohrt was named to the first team offense as a kicker and the second team defense as a punter.

Heading into the 2010 football season it was apparent to many TAPPS Div. I, District 2 teams that Hayden Vesely was the St. Joseph Flyers most dangerous weapon.

Despite being held to just 415 yards receiving on 26 catches the Flyer senior garnered first team all-district honors on both the offensive and defensive squads.

Vesely was named to the first-team offense as a wide receiver after hauling in five touchdowns.

Vesely also filled in as the teams signal caller when quarterback senior Ryan Longoria missed time during the season with injuries.

At quarterback, Vesely threw for 160 yards and a touchdown. He also ran for 150 yards and a score this season.

Longoria, along with running back Jonathan Hennessey and lineman Wade Perry, were named to the second team offense.

Longoria finished the season with 1,400 yards passing and 14 touchdowns. He also had 270 rushing yards and four touchdowns on the ground in 10 games.

Defensive backs Sam Followwill and Bradley Matthiews and lineman Matt Perez joined Sohrt on the second team defense.



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia