Friday, July 03, 2015

Advertise with us

Shiner St. Paul lands 8 on TAPPS all-state first team

Dec. 9, 2010 at 6:09 a.m.

Shiner St. Paul's Dylan Barton, right, and running back Adam Hollenbach embrace after their team scored a touchdown against Hallettsville Sacred Heart. The Cardinals face the Colleyville Covenant Cougars in Killeen on Saturday at noon.

Shiner St. Paul captured the TAPPS Division IV state football championship Saturday with a 48-41 win over Colleyville Covenant Christian.

The Cardinals reaped the rewards for their 14-0 season by having eight players selected on the first-team of the TAPPS all-state squad.

Senior linemen Dustin Adamek and Matthew Baker and sophomore backs Adam Hollenbach and Martin Kennedy were picked on the first-team offense.

Senior lineman Blake Radicke, senior linebacker Blue Hybner, senior defensive back Brandon Sciba and sophomore defensive back Cole Hybner were chosen on the first-team defense.

St. Joseph junior kicker Patrick Sohrt was selected on the second team of the Division I squad.

St. Paul placed three players on the Division IV second-team offense and two on the second-team defense.

Junior tight end Brett Hodges joined Radicke, who was chosen on the offensive line and Sciba, who was picked at wide receiver.

Senior Brandon Metcalfe was selected on the defensive line and Hodges was picked at linebacker.

Hallettsville Sacred Heart senior back Kyle Rother was selected to the second-team offense. Sacred Heart senior defensive back Daniel Halata and senior punter Cody Dornak were chosen to the second-team defense.

St. Paul quarterback Devin Pesek and Sacred Heart senior lineman Ryan Kubena earned honorable mention on offense.

St. Paul's Adamek and Kennedy and Sacred Heart junior lineman Regan Hall and senior linebacker Colby Mikes received honorable mention on defense. Adamek was recognized on the line and Kennedy at linebacker.



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia