Comments

  • This comment was removed by the site staff for violation of the usage agreement.

    July 24, 2010 at 7:11 p.m.
  • This comment was removed by the site staff for violation of the usage agreement.

    July 24, 2010 at 11:55 a.m.
  • awhit-I love fishing too, just sit this one out. My husband and his friends pool money, fish the tournament, we're on the dock looking for their safe return more than anything. And, my friend, not all these anglers are wealthy!

    July 20, 2010 at 2:32 p.m.
  • I understand what you are saying but that is not what the rule states.

    14. If a fish escapes before gaffing or netting and is recaptured
    by any method other than as outlined in the angling rules.

    The fish had been gaffed already. The rule only covers if fish is lost before gaffing or netting. I know that I am being hard headed on this one, and what you are saying makes complete since but it is not what the rule says. The rule needs to be updated. I contacted my cousin on this one. He is a lawyer who loves to fish. He says that you can only go by what the rule says. You are giving your interpretaion of the rule. Again if you can show me in rule book where it says you must maintain control of fish at all times, I will 100 pecent agree with you. My cousin advised me he could win this case hands down, but it will cost them. LOL.

    July 18, 2010 at 11:11 p.m.
  • that fish got away and re-gaffed it, that doesn't count as a caught fish

    July 18, 2010 at 11:03 p.m.
  • Once the gaff pulls free it is not a gaffed fish. Same as if a fish jumps out of a net it is no longer netted. The leader also broke so it escaped and was no longer in their control. If the fish is not gaffed and is now not hooked to the angler's line it is not caught. It was later caught by free gaffing.

    July 18, 2010 at 10:53 p.m.
  • Knotso says "They have now lost control of the fish and it is considered
    escaped and is a lost fish. It can now only be recaptured by
    angling rules which do not include free gaffing after the fish floats up
    later. DQing the fish was the only right decision under the rules."

    Where in the rule book is that description?

    The IGFA rule book states.

    14. If a fish escapes before gaffing or netting and is recaptured by any method other than as outlined in the angling rules.

    This fish was already gaffed. It was not lost prior to gaffing or netting. Where does it talk about losing control of fish. I can not find that section under IGFA rules. If that is the case then I completely agree with you, but I have been unable to find that rule.

    July 18, 2010 at 10:24 p.m.
  • Hi all,

    Just in case you wanted to know more about what happened at the tournament, one of our sports reporters, Albert Alvarado, wrote a follow up.

    Here is the link.

    http://www.victoriaadvocate.com/news/...

    Thanks for reading!

    July 18, 2010 at 10:19 p.m.
  • "The following acts will disqualify a catch:
    1. Failure to comply with equipment or angling regulations.
    2. The act of persons other than the angler in touching any part
    of the rod, reel, or line (including the double line) either bodily or with
    any device, from the time a fish strikes or takes the bait or lure, until the
    fish is either landed or released, or in giving any aid other than that al-
    lowed in the rules and regulations. If an obstacle to the passage of the line
    through the rod guides has to be removed from the line, then the obstacle
    (whether chum, floatline, rubber band, or other material) shall be held
    and cut free. Under no circumstances should the line be held or touched
    by anyone other than the angler during this process.
    3. Resting the rod in a rod holder, on the gunwale of the boat,
    or any other object while playing the fish.
    4. Handlining or using a handline or rope attached in any man-
    ner to the angler's line or leader for the purpose of holding or lifting the
    fish.
    5. Shooting, harpooning, or lancing any fish (including sharks
    and halibuts) at any stage of the catch.
    6. Chumming with or using as bait the flesh, blood, skin, or any
    part of mammals other than hair or pork rind used in lures designed for
    trolling or casting.
    7. Using a boat or device to beach or drive a fish into shallow
    water in order to deprive the fish of its normal ability to swim.
    8. Changing the rod or reel while the fish is being played.
    9. Splicing, removing, or adding to the line while the fish is
    being played.
    10. Intentionally foul hooking a fish.
    11. Catching a fish in a manner that the double line never
    leaves the rod tip.
    12. Using a size or kind of bait that is illegal to possess.
    13. Attaching the angler's line or leader to part of a boat or
    other object for the purpose of holding or lifting the fish.
    14. If a fish escapes before gaffing or netting and is recaptured
    by any method other than as outlined in the angling rules."

    http://www.igfa.org/PDF/International...

    July 18, 2010 at 10:08 p.m.
  • I was told that they recorded fish all the way up to gaff. The camera was set aside for assistance when attempting to get fish into boat. Pilot I gaurantee that they had one hell of a time catching this fish. Did you know that the fisherman who caught fish and mates on boat were all lifelong friends and in there 20's and not from the area. The captain of boat was father of one of the kids and payed entrance fees. A couple a young kids in a small boat up against much larger boats and seasoned fisherman had to have them thinkning they were on top of the world when they put fish into boat. It was a cinderella story in the making. Only to watch them be stripped of title by the comittee. These kids were on cloud nine. I gaurantee you that they had one hell of a time. Could you have imagined what this would have done for tourny next year. Young kids win tourny in 31 foot center consel boat. People would have come out of the wood works to fish this tourny next year. Now it will be known as another controversy that took place at the Poco Bueno.

    July 18, 2010 at 10:07 p.m.
  • Here are the facts:
    Poco fishes under International Gamefish Association Rules (igfa) rules. It is written in the tournament rules, verbally reminded at the captains meeting and an Igfa rules pamphlet is provided to each boat.

    Marlin Magic had the fish beside the boat and stuck the fish with a
    gaff but got it in the soft belly. The gaff ripped out and the leader broke. They have now lost control of the fish and it is considered
    escaped and is a lost fish. It can now only be recaptured by
    angling rules which do not include free gaffing after the fish floats up
    later. DQing the fish was the only right decision under the rules. It is
    unfortunate for Marlin Magic but a tournament like Poco has to be consistent with all the rules. Politics has nothing to do with it. The fish was protested according to the rules and all the facts and pertinent
    igfa rules were reviewed and discussed with igfa representatives. The right decision was made according to the rules.

    July 18, 2010 at 9:59 p.m.
  • This is the story and I would love to know what you guys think. The Marlin Majic did bring in the largest fish caught in the tourny but did not win. Why you may ask? Well not sure maybe you can help me out. The fish was brought to boat side and gaffed. When the fish was gaffed well it pissed the fish off. The fish made a final attempt to get away. The gaff was well not a great gaff it was in gut of fish. The fish managed to tear gut open and release its self from gaff. During this process the fish managed to break line that mate had in hands. The fish attempted to go down deep in the water but due to the torn gut and the tired fish. The fish immediately resurfaced were it was gaffed and pulled into boat. I have read the IGFA regulations several times over the last few hours. Nowhere in the regulations does it say you can not regaff fish. As a matter of fact it states that once fish is gaffed at boat side it is considered a catch. All rules were followed by crew. It is a very odd scenario. What are the odds of the fish resurfacing. This is something not in rule book. The comittee advised crew that it was a grey area and that there was no rules broken. The commitee decided to disqualify fish. The crew should have been awarded first prize and rule put into place for next year if neccessary. Eventhough it was not a pretty, the fish still made its way into boat.

    July 18, 2010 at 8:43 p.m.
  • High dollar fishing tournaments are not immune to cheating, but a 476# Marlin?

    I remember million dollar bass tournament years ago where it turned out the winners had caught the fish someplace else, frozen it, then thawed it out while out fishing. But a 476# fish? Nah, it couldn't be done, especially on a small boat.

    July 18, 2010 at 4:44 p.m.
  • I read the little grey chart that is posted and first place in two catergories is the same boat that commentors are saying is disqualified. So, what's the scoop?

    July 18, 2010 at 4:33 p.m.
  • Then I guess you have to be careful where you place the gaff hook.

    July 18, 2010 at 4:17 p.m.
  • so i heard it had something to do with the fish being dead before it was on the boat. is that a rule violation?

    July 18, 2010 at 3:57 p.m.
  • Man there sure are a bunch of jealous people here huh?

    You all can fish the Poco...just get an invitation, pay your entry and have at it.

    Too funny....

    July 18, 2010 at 3:51 p.m.
  • why were they dq'd?

    July 18, 2010 at 3:29 p.m.
  • This tournament is shady! Marlin Majic, a center-console boat, fished the tournament this weekend. They caught the largest marlin of the tournament, meaning they won first place, right? Wrong! They followed the guidelines 100% for catching the largest marlin. Unfortunately the tournament appears to be for the big boys who drive million dollar boats. The little guys will fall short in this tournament. It seems to be the committees' final decision as to who the winner will be. It's all a bunch of b.s. politics! Without legitimate backing the Marlin Majic was disqualified yesterday! So much for being the first center-console to win Poco! It's disappointing that paying your dues, following the stated guidelines that are printed in black and white and catching the winning fish doesn't make you a winner in Poco Bueno!

    July 18, 2010 at 2:56 p.m.
  • so football pots of $5k should have the same merit or degree of unprosecutable if $1.37million is overlooked. a chance or bet that you take you hauling in the big purse. imo

    July 18, 2010 at 10:02 a.m.
  • I love fishing and I take it to heart, but I have never figured out what is the big whoop of watching other people bring fish in. Go out and catch ur own bragging rights. Just another way for the wealthier to watch us oh and ah over them.

    July 18, 2010 at 7:34 a.m.