Home » Generals rally in 8th to beat Aces » Unverified Comments

Comments

  • There was considerable controversy in this game. The Generals scored a run in the 3rd, on a sac fly. But the Aces appealed the other runner going 2nd to 3rd, and he was called out, for the third out. At first the umpires disallowed the run. But in the 6th inning, there was a conference, and the umpires put the run back on the scoreboard, which turned out to be the game winning run. Here is the relevant rule:

    Rule 2.00, Definitions: Force Play:

    Example: Not a force out. One out. Runner on first and third. Batter
    flies out. Two out. Runner on third tags up and scores. Runner on
    first tries to retouch before throw from fielder reaches first
    baseman, but does not get back in time and is out. Three outs. If, in
    umpire's judgment, the runner from third touched home before the ball
    was held at first base, the run counts.

    July 23, 2010 at 1:38 p.m.