Saturday, March 28, 2015

Advertise with us

Calhoun County Judge Pfeifer wins Democratic nomination


March 2, 2010 at 11:02 p.m.
Updated March 1, 2010 at 9:02 p.m.

PORT LAVACA - Mike Pfeifer, the incumbent Calhoun County Judge, will face Republican nominee Sara Palacios in November

Pfeifer won the Democratic nomination with a 1,457 to 559 margin over nearest competitor Thomas "Tad" Dio, a Port Lavaca businessman. Also running was Alex Davila, who received 442 votes.

"I'm really happy and proud of all my supporters," Pfeifer said, as he drank a celebratory beer. "Thanks to all my supporters."

The incumbent county judge waited for the results in the Calhoun County courthouse lobby Tuesday night. He said he plans to work hard to campaign for the general race against his Republican challenger, who was unopposed.

In the race for County Commissioner, Precinct 2, incumbent Vern Lyssy won the Democratic nomination by beating Michael Balajka, who held the same office from 1998 to 2002. Lyssy received 656 votes to Balajka's 502.



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia