Monday, June 29, 2015

Advertise with us

AARP Chapter 829-Victoria gets award

July 5, 2011 at 2:05 a.m.

AARP Chapter 829-Victoria received the Texas State AARP Silver Award on June 28 at their meeting for work done in 2010. Gary Moses, left, speaker at the meeting, and Dr. Efren Diaz DeLeon, president of AARP Chapter 829-Victoria, show off the chapter's award.

AARP Chapter 829-Victoria had their meeting on June 28 at the Victoria County Senior Citizens Center.

Dr. Efren Diaz DeLeon, president, called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone. He introduced guests Carol Ayala, Joyce Taylor and Joetta Roche. Natalie Gilbert, chaplain, led the Invocation followed by the pledge of allegiance.

It was reported that member Oscar Marek had died.

Gary Moses, public relations with Citizens Medical Center, was the speaker and his topic was "God Bless America, Honoring the U.S. Flag."

Dr. DeLeon displayed the Silver award the chapter was awarded by the Texas State AARP for work done in 2010. DeLeon also displayed the award from the National AARP for 40 years of community service under the maxim of "To Serve, Not to be Served," the AARP motto.

Ayala, experience works program with TEC, told the group about the Older Worker program she works with. This program helps older workers find employment.

Members were reminded that new officers for 2012 will soon be recruited by the nominating committee.

Congratulations were extended to Betty and Frank Lott for their wedding anniversary on June 26. Members recorded 73 hours of volunteer work in the community for the month of June. After the meeting, Adriana Valdivia served refreshments during the fellowship hour.

The next meeting will be July 26. Dr. Julius Cano will present a musical program.

Membership in AARP is open to anyone age 50 and over. You do not have to be retired to be a member. For more information on the Local AARP chapter, call 361-573-0172.



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia