Aerial fireworks banned in DeWitt, Lavaca counties

Aerial fireworks have been banned in DeWitt and Lavaca counties.

Because of the dry weather conditions, on Monday commissioners courts in both counties passed orders prohibiting the use of fireworks classified as skyrockets with sticks and missiles with fins.

Violation of the order is a Class C misdemeanor.

The Lavaca County Commissioners Court also issued a burn ban for unincorporated areas of the county.

The ban will remain in effect for 45 days unless lifted sooner by the court.