TxDOT cracking down on impaired drivers this spring break
By From a Press Release
March 9, 2011 at 7 p.m.
Updated March 8, 2011 at 9:09 p.m.
The Texas Department of Transportation is looking to reduce impaired driving during this year's spring break.
Throughout spring break, TxDOT will be working with police departments and sheriff's offices across Texas to implement their "Don't Drive if You're Tipsy, Buzzed or Blitzen" impaired driving crackdown.
As part of the crackdown, The Victoria Police Department will be working overtime to find and arrest impaired drivers March 12-20, according to a press release.
"We want everyone to enjoy a safe and happy spring break," said VPD Sgt. Julian Huerta. "That's why we're making a special effort to reach motorists with 'don't drink and drive' reminders."
Convicted first-time DWI offenders face a fine of up to $2,000, loss of their driver's license for up to a year and up to 180 days in jail. Safety officials say other costs associated with an impaired driving arrest and conviction can add up to more than $17,000 for bail, legal fees, court appearances, court-ordered classes, vehicle insurance increases and other expenses.
In 2009, there were 12,408 alcohol-related crashes in Texas that killed 956 motorists and injured 17,703 others.
For more information on the crackdown, contact Sgt. Huerta at 361-485-3783.