Advertise with us

Matagorda Democratic sheriff's candidates face runoff

By adriana_acosta
May 30, 2012 at 12:30 a.m.

Two of the five candidates for Democratic Party nomination for Matagorda County sheriff will face off in a runoff election.

Incumbent Gary Mathis and challenger Aaron C. Green did not garner enough votes to win the nomination.

Mathis received 852 votes to Green's 1,073.

A total of 5,164 Matagorda County residents voted in the election. A total of 2,403 voted Republican and 2,761 voted Democratic.

The other candidates received the following votes. S. L. Davidson 30, David Miles 472, Gus Flores 307.

"I am very surprised by the results, but we will work hard during the run off elections, said Mathis.

The runoff election will be July 31.

The winner of the runoff will face Frank "Skipper" Osborne who won the Republican nomination over Chris Crummett.

Osborne received 1,130 votes to Crummett's 1,009.

"I am very happy with the support the voters showed this election, the Republican nominee said.

Other Democratic party totals include Craig Estlinbaum, 130th Judicial District district judge with 1,999 votes.

District Attorney, 23rd judicial district, Steven Reis with 1,978.

Country Attorney Matthew Hardy Sloan with 1,706 votes. County Tax assessor-collector, Cristyn E. Hallmark 2,063, County treasurer Tammy McDonald 1,961, County commissioner, Precinct No. 1 Daniel Pustka 544, County commissioner, Precinct No. 3 James Gibson 346.

Justice of the peace, Precinct No. 4 Hilda Gomez, 259, Norman May 282, Mark Finlay 348.

Constable Precinct No. 1 Raymond Green 534, Precinct No. 2 Frank Craft 356, Precinct No. 3 Pat Jewell 340, Precinct No. 4 Mark Holland 421, Pedro Medina 510. Precinct No. 6 Tom Ward 98 votes.

See more results at 3F.



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia