Saturday, March 28, 2015

Advertise with us

Who will be the next Victoria mayor?

May 11, 2013 at 12:11 a.m.

Will Burleson walks up to the poll at  the Victoria County Courthouse to cast his vote Saturday.

10:38 p.m.: Halepaska wins re-election; Bauknight gets nod, too. Story is here.

10:27 p.m.:Polasek, Armstrong head for runoff.

10:25: Former Victoria City Councilman Gabriel Soliz is entitled to a recount in the Super District 5 race. As it stands now, here are the numbers from Saturday's race: Andrew Young 583; incumbent Joe Truman 467; Soliz 461. Soliz fell six votes short of qualifying for the runoff in that race.

10:22 p.m.: Jeff Bauknight gives thanks for his win in Victoria City Council District 3: “I’m at a loss for words tonight,” Bauknight said. “I’m overwhelmed by the support I got and I was honored to have the votes for the race.”

10:13 p.m.: Here are Yorktown results.

10:09 p.m. This may be the most interesting story of the night.

9:51 p.m.: Tom Halepaska re-elected to Victoria City Council Super District 6. "I'm glad it's over. It's kind of like a trip to the dentist," he said. "It may be necessary but not necessarily fun."

9:45 p.m.:Jackson County results are in.

9:35 p.m.: In Ganado's city council race, the 3 incumbents kept their seats. Bauerle took 73 votes, Petrash took 68 and Callies took 61.

9:27 p.m.: Here are the Calhoun County results.

9:24 p.m.: Here are the Refugio County results.

8:56 p.m.: We have a new mayor in Refugio. Final results in. The mayor in Refugio is Joey Heard with 161 votes

For Woodsboro, the new mayor is Larry Jochetz.

8:45 p.m.: Tom Halepaska and Jeff Bauknight are the only Victoria County candidates to receive more than 50 percent of the votes. We'll have runoffs in the others.

For Mayor, it will be Paul Polasek vs. Will Armstrong.

In District 5: It will be Joe Truman vs. Andrew Young.

8:30 p.m.: Final results in Victoria County:

District 5:

Truman 467; Young 583; Soliz 461

District 6:

Halepaska, 2,127, Pruitt, 1,470;

District 3:

Hyak, 615, Bauknight, 1,311, Caldwell, 287.


Polasek 1,951; Armstrong 1,617; Perez 293; Deases 161; Rachid 1,153

8:26 p.m.: Goliad County has final results. Get them here.

8:12 p.m.: With one precinct left to report in Victoria, it looks like Paul Polasek and Will Armstrong will have a runoff for mayor. Tom Halepaska will keep his seat in District 6. Andrew Young will keep his lead in District 5. Jeff Bauknight will win the District 3 race.

8:10 p.m. Rusty Mills, who died March 12 but whose name had to be placed on the Shiner school board ballot because of state law, defeated Max Moore III, 91-75, for the seat. The Shiner school board will now have to appoint someone to that seat. The board will meet in special session on Wednesday.

8 p.m.: We'll have live interview with Tom Halespaska.

7:57 p.m.: Here are the early voting numbers from Victoria for you election fans:

Mayor's race

Paul Polasek: 1,259

Will Armstrong: 1,142

Henry Perez: 189

Richard Deases: 112

Omar Rachid: 682

District 3:

Hyak 437

Jeff Bauknight: 937

Vic Caldwell: 157

District 5:

Joe Truman: 317

Andrew Young: 355

Gabriel Soliz: 257

District 6:

Tom Halepaska: 1461

Russel Pruitt: 955

These are just the early voting numbers.

7:56 p.m.: We have 12 of 22 precincts reporting in Victoria: So far, in District 5 race: Truman 384; Young 450; Soliz 320.

In the mayor's race: Polasek 1,577; Armstrong 1,377; Perez 242; Deases 131; Rachid 907.

7:54 p.m.: Goliad City Council results are in. Buddy Zavesky (198 votes), Lionel Garcia (189) and Liz Holsey (184) were elected.

7:50 p.m.: We have some early Refugio County results: Joey Heard leads current Mayor Ray Jaso 102-84.

7:45 p.m.: Victoria District 6 votes: Tom Halepaska extends his lead over Russell Pruitt, 1,610 to 1,064. This is with 7 of 22 precincts reporting.

7:42 p.m.: Victoria Council District 3: Hyak, 437; Bauknight 937; Caldwell, 157 / Council District 6: Halepaska, 1,481; Pruitt, 980.

Victoria Mayoral Race: Polasek up to 1,322 votes. Armstrong at 1,204. Rachid at 741. Perez at 208 and Deases at 121 with 5 of 22 precincts reporting.

Victoria District 5: Joe Truman 369, Andrew Young 431, and Gabriel Soliz 295.

7:35 p.m.: Jackson County Results: 441 votes for the Emergency services tax levy. 260 votes against.

7:25 p.m.: If you miss a live interview, we'll also post here in the story. Omar Rachid's interview will be posted in a few minutes.

7:16 p.m.: We will have our first live interview at 7:20 p.m. with Omar Rachid. Stay tuned.

7:15 p.m.: With one precinct reporting, here's what Victoria City Council District 6 looks like: Tom Halepaska 1,461. Russell Pruitt, 955.

And Council District 3: Hyak 437, Bauknight 937; Caldwell: 157.

7 p.m.: Polls are closing. We hope to have updates soon.

Earlier this week, Elections Administrator George Matthews anticipated voter participation in the race for mayor and three City Council seats could reach as high as 18 percent of the city's 33,853 registered voters. However, he does not believe it will outnumber the early votes.

When early voting closed Tuesday evening, 2,271 residents, or 10.5 percent of the voting population, had made their picks for city councilmen and mayor.

"I had originally anticipated a 7 or 8 percent turnout for early voting and a 14 or 15 percent total turnout, but we're already at 10.5 percent," Matthews said

6:15 p.m.: We will have several live interviews with candidates and Victoria County Election Administrator George Matthews. See those interviews starting right here.

6 p.m.: Polls close at 7 p.m. Follow below in the Coverit Live box for live updates from Advocate reporters starting at 7 p.m..

When early voting closed Tuesday evening, 2,271 residents, or 10.5 percent of the voting population, had made their picks for city councilmen and mayor.



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia