Saturday, July 04, 2015

Advertise with us

UHV business honor society inducts new members

Nov. 2, 2013 at 6:02 a.m.

Three of the new University of Houston-Victoria inductees to Beta Gamma Sigma, from left, Ramakrishnan Sritharan,  Rohan Thomas and Joseph Babaian, pose with Farhang Niroomand, right, dean of the UHV School of Business Administration. Twenty UHV students were inducted into the international business honor society.

Twenty University of Houston-Victoria School of Business Administration students recently were inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma, the international business honor society.

"I would like to extend my congratulations to the newest members of Beta Gamma Sigma," said Farhang Niroomand, dean of the UHV School of Business Administration. "The motto of Beta Gamma Sigma is recognizing business excellence. Based on what they have accomplished in the classroom, the students inducted have proven they are among the best and brightest."

UHV began inducting students to Beta Gamma Sigma in 2007. A total of 141 UHV students and alumni are members.

The mission of Beta Gamma Sigma is to encourage and honor academic achievement in the study of business and to foster personal and professional excellence. To be inducted, students must be in the top 10 percent of their junior or senior class or the top 20 percent of their class in the last year of their graduate program.

Beta Gamma Sigma is the international honor society serving business programs accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business International. UHV is one of fewer than 5 percent of business schools in the world to be accredited by the association.

The new members and their hometowns are: Ashley Winegeart, of Corpus Christi; Mark Payne, of Cypress; John Finnegan, of Fulshear; Abhijat Prabhu Parrikar, of Goa, India; Stephen Ip, of Irving; Timothy Aramburo, of Houston; Jill Aremband, of Houston; Joseph Babaian, of Houston; Wesley Fangman, of Houston; Lashantae Reeves, of Houston; Rohan Thomas, of Houston; Nana Liu, of Katy; Jon Stokes, of Katy; Shawn Harrigan, of La Porte; Jeffrey Anderson, of Missouri City; Ursala Tul-Jamil, of Richmond; John Anthony Serrano, of Stafford; Ramakrishnan Sritharan, of Sugar Land; Huynh Tuan, of Sugar Land; and Stephen Thomas, of Waxahachie.

For more information about Beta Gamma Sigma, contact UHV student advising coordinator Angela Green at 281-275-3027 or



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia