Monday, July 06, 2015

Advertise with us

Bloomberg Businessweek presents awards to 3 UHV faculty members

Oct. 19, 2013 at 5:19 a.m.

Bloomberg Businessweek Teaching and Research Award winners Peggy Cloninger, second from left, Massoud Metghalchi and Jie Yang accept plaques from Shandale Robertson, Bloomberg Businessweek regional sales manager, left, and Farhang Niroomand, far right, dean of the UHV School of Business Administration, at an awards reception Oct. 3 in Sugar Land.

Three University of Houston-Victoria business faculty members recently received recognition from a popular business magazine for effectiveness in using the company's materials in teaching and research.

The 2012-13 recipients of the Bloomberg Businessweek Teaching and Research Awards are: Jie Yang, Fall 2012 Teaching Award; Peggy Cloninger, Spring 2013 Teaching Award; and Massoud Metghalchi, Research Award.

The awards were handed out at the UHV School of Business Administration awards reception Oct. 3 at UH Sugar Land, where UHV offers many of the programs. Metghalchi received a $2,500 honorarium while Yang and Cloninger each received $2,000. They each were given a plaque from Shandale Robertson, Bloomberg Businessweek regional sales manager.

Yang, a professor of operations management and quantitative methods, is the first two-time Bloomberg award winner. She also won the research award in 2011.

Yang has taught several operations, supply chain management and research methods courses at UHV since 2009. She said she tries to exhibit enthusiasm, responsibility and diligence in her teaching.

Cloninger is an associate management professor. A UHV faculty member since 2000, Cloninger teaches a number of management courses, including Seminar in Strategic Management. She also serves as chair of the School of Business Administration Department of Strategy and Decision Sciences.

Metghalchi is a finance professor whose primary research interest is the world's equity markets. His latest project is researching the behavior of stock markets in the U.S., Europe and Asia.

Metghalchi has taught at UHV since 1991. He was the recipient of the 2008-09 UHV Research and Scholarly Activity Excellence Award. In January, he was the first faculty member to be named a Ron Sardessai Endowed Professor.

Several student award winners from the past year also were recognized at the reception. The students included the 2012-13 Bachelor of Business Administration Conference winners and the 2012-13 Master of Business Administration Conference case study and simulation winners.

The reception was attended by several Fort Bend and Victoria business, political and education leaders, including Texas Rep. Rick Miller; Victoria City Councilman David Hagan; Bob Brown, chairman of the Greater Fort Bend Economic Development Council; and Omar Rachid, chair of the UHV President's Regional Advisory Board.



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia