Monday, July 06, 2015

Advertise with us

Sweet Home school starts foundation to raise private money for district

May 14, 2014 at 12:14 a.m.

Members of the Sweet Home ISD Foundation board are, from left, Jeff Points, Tammy Brasher, Dianna Hanzelka, Tasha Mueller, Amy Meyer, Ricky Raz and school Superintendent Randy Meyer.

The Sweet Home school district has started a nonprofit foundation to help bring private funding to the district.

The Sweet Home ISD Education Foundation was formed as an independent nonprofit charitable organization led by a volunteer board of directors. The sole purpose of the foundation is to benefit the Sweet Home Independent School District by providing funds for educational programs and activities that are not funded by the normal operating budget, according to a news release.

These funds will be used to help student achievement and skill development, to recognize and encourage staff excellence and to expand community involvement from individuals.

Funding priorities will also include funds for innovative teaching grants that will provide resources directly to the classroom for teachers to create exciting, new educational programs and to renovate and expand district facilities.

The idea for the foundation grew from a need for supplemental funds and awareness of a growing number of education foundations serving this area of Texas school districts, said Randy Meyer, school district superintendent and education foundation founder.

"We brought in Foundation Innovation, a firm that specializes in developing foundations to ensure that we meet our first-year goals and objectives," he added. Foundation Innovation has worked with many communities and school districts in Texas and other states to establish foundations to benefit public school systems.

The Sweet Home ISD Education Foundation is a charitable organization under the Internal Revenue Service section 501(c)(3), and contributions to the organization are tax deductible.

The school district provides classes for kindergarten through eighth grades.

"The education foundation board of directors is dedicated to our community and educational excellence, and I am proud to serve with them to support and enhance the tools available to the district," said Tammy Brasher, foundation chairwoman. "We are very excited that community members have organized to help attract private funds to benefit our school," she added.

Other board members are Amy Meyer, Dianna Hanzelka, Jeff Points, Ricky Raz, Meyer and Tasha Mueller, foundation liaison.



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia