Monday, March 02, 2015

Advertise with us

Early voting begins Monday in primary runoff elections

May 18, 2014 at 12:18 a.m.

Early voting: Democratic and Republican runoff elections

WHERE: Calhoun County Courthouse Lobby, 211 South Ann St., Port Lavaca

WHEN: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday-Friday; extended voting, 8 a.m.-7 p.m. Tuesday and Thursday

W: Franklin Street Annex, 329 W. Franklin St., Goliad

W: 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday-Friday; extended voting, 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Wednesday, Thursday

All other counties, call the election administrator or county clerk in your county to find out where to vote.

On the ballot

• Lieutenant governor - David Dewhurst, Dan Patrick

• Attorney general - Dan Branch, Ken Paxton

• Commissioner of agriculture - Tommy Merritt, Sid Miller

• Railroad commissioner - Wayne Christian, Ryan Sitton

• U.S. Senate: Kesha Rogers, David Alameel

• Commissioner of agriculture: Richard "Kinky" Friedman, Jim Hogan

Early voting starts Monday in the Republican and Democratic parties' primary runoff elections.

Early voting ends Friday. The runoff elections are May 27.

The Crossroads has two runoff elections - Goliad County judge in the Republican Party and Calhoun County clerk in the Democratic Party.

Statewide voters will determine the Republican Party nominee for lieutenant governor, attorney general, agriculture commissioner and railroad commissioner and the Democratic Party nominee for U.S. senate and state agriculture commissioner.

Local elections

In Goliad, Republicans David Bowman and Pat Calhoun are vying for the nomination for county judge. Bowman, the incumbent, and challenger Calhoun tied in the March primary. Instead of having a recount, they chose to break the tie in the runoff election.

In Calhoun County, Shelby Sebastian and Susan Riley are vying for the Democratic party nomination for county clerk.

In the primary, Sebastian won the most votes, but it was not enough to gain the nomination. Riley and Grace Gonzalez tied with 630 votes. Riley won a coin toss to compete in the runoff election.

Who can vote

Anyone who did not vote in either March primary can vote in either runoff election. Anyone who voted in the Republican or Democratic primary can only vote in that party's runoff.

Voters must bring their voter registration card and a photo ID, such as a Texas driver's license.



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia