Blogs » Digital Babble » Facebook launches check-in feature, how to disable it?

Subscribe


Image

Yesterday Facebook announced a new feature named "Places", a service that allows you to check-in to locations, similar to Foursquare and Gowalla.

If you enjoy allowing your friends on Facebook to know when you are checking in at the local grocery store or restaurant, then Places is just for you. After all location-aware sites like Foursquare are popular.

Perhaps you'd rather not announce your location on Facebook, you like to keep a low profile. You can disable this feature. Keep in mind that Places also allows your friends to check you in to a location. So say you are at the mall, but maybe you should have been at work. You think you are smooth by not tweeting, texting or updating your status. However, someone you know sees you, and innocently checks you in at the food court. Busted. You actually don't even have to be at a location for your friends to check you in. So that raises some concerns over privacy.

If you want to disable Places on Facebook, it is not difficult. The folks over at Lifehacker have written up a great tutorial on how to disable Places.

1 -Log in to Facebook. From your Account menu, choose Privacy Settings.

2 -Click the Customize option and then click the "Customize settings" link.

3 -Look under the "Things I Share" heading, you will see two options you may want to change, "Places I check in" and "Include me in 'People Here Now" after I check in." The first option will let people know where you check in. You can change to option to only allow your friends to view this, or you can customize it to a list of people you want. The second option, lets people know you're at a particular location via the location's page or in a search for people near you. Uncheck "Enable" if you don't want this.

Image

4 - The last option you really want to consider: Go to the section "Things Others Share" and find the option "Friends can check me in to Places." Set this to Disabled if you don't want your friends checking you in to places.
Image

As the post in Lifehacker explained, "Keep in mind that any friend could potentially check you in anywhere. You don't actually have to be there."

You can also watch this walk-through of how to change these settings:



So what do you think about this new feature, will you use it or disable it?