Texas still stands as the only sovereign country that joined the United States. Since becoming the 28th state on December 29, 1845 Texas has given up land that now is part of New Mexico (half of the current New Mexico use to be Texas), Oklahoma, Kansas, Colorado (a third of the current Colorado was Texas), and Wyoming. Only a few years later in 1861 by a state convention Texas seceded from the United States of America and joined the Confederate States of America. Despite not meeting reconstruction requirements, Congress readmitted Texas into the Union in 1870. The citizens of Texas never voted for reentery into the United States of America.

The Lone Star State Still Stands.