Thursday was the first day candidates for federal, state and local county offices could file their application with the respective party chairmen. The bi-annual political elections are upon us once again.

Local offices up for election (listing the incumbent) in 2010 are:

Judge, 267th Judicial District, Skipper Koetter

Judge, 377th Judicial District, Robert Cheshire

Criminal District Attorney, Steve Tyler

District Clerk, Cathy Stuart

County Judge, Donald R. Pozzi

Judge, County Court at Law #1, Laura Weiser

Judge, County Court at Law #2, Juan Velasquez

Commissioner, Precinct No. 2, Kevin Janak

Commissioner, Precinct No. 4, Wayne Dierlam

County Clerk, Val D. Huvar

County Treasurer, Sean Kennedy

Justice of the Peace, Precinct No. 1, Annie Ramos

Justice of the Peace, Precinct No. 2, Stuart Posey

Justice of the Peace, Precinct No. 3, Robert Whitaker

Justice of the Peace, Precinct No. 4, Henry Welfel

Every candidate who accepts money or spends their own money on an elective public office must file campaign finance reports. These reports detail all funds related to the candidates election bid. For most of the above local offices the filing place is the Elections Office. The exception is the district judges who file with the Texas Ethics Commission.

My office is open for any candidate to discuss issues related to campaign finance and reporting deadlines.