The last day to file for a place on the primary ballots is Monday, January 4th. All prospective candidates must file an application for a place on the ballot, along with their filing fee or a petition in lieu of a filing fee, no later than 6 pm. Filing for local offices is with the county chairman for their political party. State and district candidates file with the state chairman of their party.

The Victoria County Democratic County Chairman is Stephen Jabbour. He may be reached at 117 N. Main, Victoria, Texas 77901, (361) 578-0244

The Victoria County Republican County Chairman is Mary Anne Wyatt. She may be contacted at 108 Leisure Lane, Victoria, Texas 77901, (361) 578-9334 or cellular at 550-5084.

I apologize for not knowing the local Libertarian representative but prospective candidates should contact the state party at

Candidates who wish to run for local office as an independent must also file an application for a place on the ballot with the County Judge. In addition to the filing fee independent candidates must gather signatures on a petition (after the primary and before May 15th) to be included on the general election ballot.

For more information contact the Elections Office at 111 N. Glass or call (361) 576-0124.