In our continuing series of articles it is now time to review our representatives to the Texas Legislature.

One of these we've already mentioned is the Lieutenant Governor who presides over the Texas Senate.

"The Lieutenant Governor in Texas is unique in that he is part of both the Executive and Legislative branches.

As in most states, the Lieutenant Governor in Texas assumes the powers and duties of the Governor when the Governor is unable to serve or is absent from the state. But in Texas, the Lieutenant Governor is elected separately from the Governor, and each can be members of different political parties.

The Texas Constitution names the Lieutenant Governor the Constitutional President of the Senate, but the Constitution also gives the Senate the authority to write its own rules. That's where the Lieutenant Governor derives most of his power." Taken from the Lieutenant Governor's web site.

The Texas Senate has 31 members elected from districts across the state. Victoria County is in Senate District 18. The Texas House of Representatives has 150 members elected from districts across the state. Victoria County is in House District 30.

The laws by which we live in this state are created or abolished in the Texas Legislature. Each legislative body must approve any change to the laws of the state and then the laws (bills) are sent to the governor for his signature. Typically the most important bills in the legislature are those which deal with the state's budget.

Our elected officials to the Texas Senate and Texas House of Representatives must have a broad knowledge on the issues because there are so many topics discussed during the legislative session.

The senator and representative are not only busy during a legislative session but also serve during the interim on various legislative committees which seek public comment on issues important to all citizens of the state.