UHV Jaguar logo

Fifteen University of Houston-Victoria student-athletes were recognized by the NAIA as 2019-20 Daktronics-NAIA Scholar athletes on Tuesday.

Softball led the way with six representatives, followed by men’s soccer with five. The UHV women’s soccer team had two players named as scholar athletes, while baseball and men’s golf each had one.

Representing the UHV softball team were Angelica Davidson, Emily Flores, Marissa Mendoza, Michelle Kristoff, Lauren Caka and Abigail Torres.

Named scholar athletes from the men’s soccer team were Erik Faelstroem, Uriel Garcia, Brody Patience, Connagh Wilks and Daniel Gribben, while Freja Magnussen and Consuelo Luna were named from the women’s soccer team.

Tyler Price represented the UHV baseball team, while James Rollins earned the honor as a member of the men’s golf team.

The Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athletes programs recognize excellence in the classroom by NAIA-member student-athletes who are juniors or above in academic standing with a 3.5 cumulative GPA.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Transparency. Your full name is required.
Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article. And receive photos, videos of what you see.
Don’t be a troll. Don’t be a troll. Don’t post inflammatory or off-topic messages, or personal attacks.

Thank you for reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.

To subscribe, click here. Already a subscriber? Click here.