Abel Garcia writes a weekly bowling column for the Victoria Advocate.

Nick Picard had his strike ball working to produce the high series for the week during Rolling Thunder League play.

He rolled 23 strikes in the three games with individuals of 213, 257, and 256 for a 726 total. He had only one open frame, which occurred in the second game.

Mike Stacy also broke the 700 mark with games of 233, 269 and 203 for a 705 series and second high. The second game he started with the first eight strikes before a 9 pin count on the first ball stopped his string.

Cody Hammack also broke the 650 mark in the same league by posting a 653 set for third high for the week.

Brandon Olson with a 244-612 and Justin Shoup with 231-612 shared the top score in Summer Strikers League competition.

Judy Reyna was high for the women with a 551 series rolled in Rolling Thunder action.

The final prize list for the 2019 Texas Women’s State Championship has been posted on the texasbowling.com website with several crossroads bowlers making the list.

In the team event a team from Lolita Alley Dusters with a score of 2,628 placed in Div3. In the doubles event Div4, Laura Edmondson and Linda Hempel with a score of 1,371 placed. Victorian Delores Stroud placed in Div3 singles with a score of 706. Bethaney Hobbs from Cuero placed in Div5 singles with a score of 705. For a complete list of the winners visit the website.

It is with sorrow that I note that Connie Allen, a former Victoria League passed away last week at the age of 72. My condolence and sympathy to the family.

PBA Bowling is back on national TV starting with the PBA League Quarterfinals from Portland, Maine Tuesday, July 16 at 6 p.m. and 8 p.m. on FoxSports1. The semi-finals and PBA League Elias Cup Finals will be broadcast on July 17 and 18 at 8 p.m.

The CBS Sports Network will televise the Go Bowling PBA Tour Barbasol finals Round Robin 1 on Saturday July 20 at 2 p.m. and Round Robin 2 at 4 p.m. on the same day. The following day on Sunday, coverage will start at 2 p.m. with group 1 stepladder finals followed by Group 2 stepladder finals at 4 p.m. and then the Tour finals Championship round.

Jason Belmonte won the event last year and is the top point leader again this year. He will be joined by the other top 7 point leaders in order of their point total; Jacob Butturff, Anthony Simonsen, E.J. Tackett, Kris Prather, Andrew Anderson, Marshall Kent and Bill O’Neill.

The eight player field will be divided into two four player groups. The field will bowl four games of qualifying in their respective group. The four game total in each group will be used to determine the seeding for a stepladder finals for each group.

Congratulations to PBA senior bowler Norm Duke, who won his fifth ESPY Best Bowler Award last week. He has won the second most ESPY’s with Walter Ray Williams having won the most with seven. Duke recently won his 39th and 40th PBA titles becoming the third bowler to reach that mark.

SUMMER SUNDAY STRIKERS 1ST TEAM #3. Women: S. Trojacek 448; Men: B. Olson 244-612; J. Shoup 231-612; B. Flores 230-587; A. Rolette 582’ M. Osterson 548; FUNTAPPERS (No Tap} 1ST EASY SPARE Women: C. Danesi 274-694; L. Conchola 238-635; C. Wilson 243-616; Men: D. Matthews 300-862; J. Silgero 272-792; N. Picard 279-756; M. Svatek 288-734; R. Lyman 278-692; R. Vannostrand 243-667; R. Nickel 657; C. Hoff 651; R. Silgero 245-650; J. Mitchell 255; D. Flores 250; B. Matula 244; ROLLING THUNDER 1ST THE DOG POUND Women: J. Reyna 551; J. McNary 541; Men: N. Picard 257-726; M. Stacy 269-705; C. Hammack 242-653; J. Matson 226-644; T. Crowe 622; D.Matthews 236-621; R. Lyman 616; T. Bennett 611; J. Cano 610; J. Silgero 244-606; B. Hyden 247-599; C. Reynolds 235-598; J. Rymer 596; G. Hatter Jr. 592; P. Visconti 589; J. Cass 587; K. Rosales 587; J. Guerra 578; R. Rendon 572; L. Helms 572; L. Conner 570; S. Zeplin 567; H. Tesch 234-565; J. Shoup 564; T.J. Mooney 561; M. Unger 560; E. Smith 556; J. Tweedle 556; J. Wittenburg 235; A. Rolette 226; B. Torres 224; CENTURY YOUTH 1ST TEAM 4 Girls: S. Wharton 169-411; L. Salazar 169-325; Boys: M. Garcia 172-488; B. Boehmer 131-338; M. Rangel 115-334; PEE WEE 1ST TEAM 2 Girls: A. Capali 95-172; K. Church 75-140; Boys: C. Rinald 97-170; J. Shoup 156; E. Garza 151

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Transparency. Your full name is required.
Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article. And receive photos, videos of what you see.
Don’t be a troll. Don’t be a troll. Don’t post inflammatory or off-topic messages, or personal attacks.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.

To subscribe, click here. Already a subscriber? Click here.