Abel Garcia writes a weekly bowling column for the Victoria Advocate.

The University Lanes from Denton sponsored three teams into the 42nd Annual Victoria Latin Bowlers Tournament, two in the men’s division and one in the women’s division, and by Sunday evening they had claimed respective titles.

The men’s division consisted of 64 teams, and the women fielded 32 teams in the two-day weekend tournament.

After Saturday’s three-game competition finished, Team Cabanski (San Antonio) had taken the lead with a score of 3,444 and was hoping to repeat as tournament champions. University Lanes #1 was sitting in second place with a score of 3,345.

During Sunday’s morning squad, University Lanes #1, led by Dimitri Crus’s 736 and Tedd Pritts’ 721, scorched the pins for a 3,390 to finish with a total team handicap score of 6,735.

Team Cabanski, competing in the afternoon squad, could only manage a score of 3,085 and finished in fourth place with 6,529.

Team NDO (Houston) finished in second place with a score of 6,544, and Team Trio (Houston) grabbed third-place money with a team total of 6,538. Ninth place and low to cash was score of 6,390.

The men’s individual winner (6 games) was Gilbert Reyes Jr. with a score of 1,494. Ted Pritts (Dallas) finished second with a score of 1,453, and Eric Traylor (Houston) took third-place money with a score of 1,440.

Local bowler Tom Crowe bowled the week’s top series with a 290 high game and 779 total Sunday afternoon. Eric Traylor (Houston) notched a 290-776 for second high. Parker Capra (Houston) almost had perfection with a 299 game. Local bowler Kyle Stasny notched a 286 high game Saturday morning.

In the women’s division, NDO Divas (Austin) had the lead after Saturday’s competition with a score of 3,342 and University Lanes #3 held the third-place spot with a score of 3,271. Like their male counterparts, they fought their way to the top with a score of 3,230 to finish with a total score of 6,501 to claim the title.

High Maintenance (Corpus Christi) finished in second place with a score of 6,486, and NDO Divas took third-place money with a score of 6,444. Low to cash was 6,382 for sixth place.

The women’s individual winner was Jessica Hirschmer (San Antonio), a repeat champion, with a score of 1,413. Leritha Pride (Dallas) finished second with a score of 1,410, and Alexandra Johnson earned third-place money with a score of 1,394.

Leritha Pride posted the women’s high series with a 258 contributing toward a 739. Deme Safu with 278-707 and Jessica Hirchmann with 702 also broke the 700 mark.

According to tournament manger Lee Caballero, individual bowlers from Los Angles, Louisiana and Detroit made the trip to Victoria to participate. Caballero said he started receiving tournament entries in May, but unfortunately he could not schedule all the teams because of limited space.

Although no Victoria teams cashed this year, local bowler Caballero was on the winning men’s team and Matt Mathieu was on the Team Cabanski team. Some local bowlers did cash in brackets and side pots.

A total of 450 bowlers participated in the event, and the Victoria Latin Bowlers Club members managed another successful tournament.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Transparency. Your full name is required.
Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article. And receive photos, videos of what you see.
Don’t be a troll. Don’t be a troll. Don’t post inflammatory or off-topic messages, or personal attacks.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.

To subscribe, click here. Already a subscriber? Click here.