FRISCO – Sam Houston State’s Trace Mascorro and Houston Baptist’s Gamarquis Girdy were honored on the all-Southland Conference postseason football team announced Tuesday.

Mascorro, a junior from Refugio, was named the conference’s Newcomer of the Year and was also a first-team selection on the defensive line.

Girdy, a senior from Victoria West, was selected as the first-team kick returner.

Mascorro, who transferred from UTEP, is the first Bearkat to be named the league’s top newcomer since Chris Chaloupka in 1999.

He is also the first defensive player to get the honor from any school since Incarnate Word’s Myke Tavarres in 2015.

Mascorro started all 12 games on the defensive line, racking up 15.5 tackles for loss, 5 sacks and forcing a pair of fumbles for a defense that led the FCS in tackles for loss.

Girdy ranked second in the nation and led the conference with a 28.2-yard kickoff return average. He was one of only five players nationally tied for the FCS lead with two kickoff return touchdowns.

Mike Forman is the sports editor of the Victoria Advocate. Contact him at 361-580-6588 or by email at Follow him on Twitter at @mikeforman21

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Transparency. Your full name is required.
Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article. And receive photos, videos of what you see.
Don’t be a troll. Don’t be a troll. Don’t post inflammatory or off-topic messages, or personal attacks.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.

To subscribe, click here. Already a subscriber? Click here.