Zamzow UT

Texas’ Ashtin Zamzow snagged 6,148 points, the second-best score in the world at the 92nd annual Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays on Thursday.

AUSTIN – Texas’ Ashtin Zamzow is a national champion.

Zamzow, a senior from Goliad, came from behind to win the heptathlon competition at the NCAA Outdoor Championship on Saturday at Mike A. Myers Stadium.

Zamzow scored a school-record 6,222 points to outdistance Texas A&M’s Tyra Gittens, who had 6,049 points.

Zamzow had trailed Gittens after Friday’s four events but took the lead by winning the javelin throw (162 feet, 7 inches).

Zamzow secured the title by finishing 17th in the 800-meter run (2 minutes, 21.31 seconds), while Gittens placed 23rd (2:29.99).

Zamzow also finished sixth in the long jump (19-8.75) to begin Saturday’s competition.

Zamzow set personal bests in the 100-meter hurdles, high jump and 200-meter dash Friday, but still trailed Gittens by 161 points.

Zamzow won the Big 12 heptathlon championship, becoming the first Texas athlete to win the event.

Zamzow previously set the school record in the event with a score of 6,148 at the Texas Relays earlier this season.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Transparency. Your full name is required.
Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article. And receive photos, videos of what you see.
Don’t be a troll. Don’t be a troll. Don’t post inflammatory or off-topic messages, or personal attacks.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.

To subscribe, click here. Already a subscriber? Click here.