Girls Awards


Carrie Lacy, Junior, guard, Victoria West, 16.2 ppg, 6.4 ast, 3.8 stl.

Offensive player of the Year

Kennedy Youngblood,  Junior, Victoria West 15.7 ppg, 9.8 rpg. 3.2 apg

Defensive Player of the Year

Leilani Wimbish-Gay, Sophomore, Post, Victoria East, 12 ppg, 7 reb, 3.4 bpg, 3.5 spg, 112 steals, 108 blocks,  226 rebounds.

Newcomer of the Year

Jozelyn Washington, Sophomore, Victoria West,  10.6 ppg, 8.3 rpg, 2.1 apg

Coach of the Year

Shannon Taylor, Industrial

Taylor helped lead Industrial back to the state tournament for the first time since 1951 in just his second year as the Lady Cobras head coach. Industrial went undefeated in District 27-3A play.

Girls First team

Imani Wimbish-Gay, Senior, G Victoria East 13 ppg, 6 rpg, 3 spg, 4 apg.

Rashel Bonds, Senior, Post, Shiner 12.8 ppg, 8.3 reb, 1.2 ast, 1.94 steal, 1 Blk

Erin Blaschke. Sophomore, Post, Moulton, 18.9, 7.2 rpg, 3.2 spg

Kamie Klesel, Senior, Forward, Weimar, 18 ppg, 5 rpg, 3 apg, 4 spg

Caeli Taylor, Sophomore, Guard, Industrial, 10 ppg, 5 rpg, 3 spg

Ciarra Mutshatshi, Junior, Forward, Wharton, 18.9 ppg, 12.7 reb

Second Team

Alisa Novosad, Sr., St. Joseph 

Savanah Williams, So., Palacios 

Keyshia Callis, Sr., Edna 

Mandi Mitchon, Sr., Moulton

Regan Doyle, Sr., Industrial

April Chapa Sr., Faith Academy 

Gracey Novosad, Jr., Shiner St. Paul

Honorable mention

Victoria East: Giani Wimbish-Gay, Zakari Perry

Victoria West: Jaclyn Gonzales, Sara Berengan, Taizhae Grant

St. Joseph: Maegan Marshall, Taylor Foeh, Maiya Tillman

Beeville: Kamaria Gipson

Bloomington: Makayla Hernandez, Julissa Aguirre, Eryka Hosey

Calhoun: Stephanie Delgado

Cuero: Katie Crain

Edna: Lexi Reyes

El Campo: Natalia Terrell, Eneyshia Lindsey, Jackesha Nichols

Falls City: Jordan Grier, Katelyn Dziuk, Sheleigh Blocker, Nikki Kowalik, Kate West

Faith Academy: Hannah Bazar, Jade Thomas, Nelissa Rosales, Alicia Puentes.

Flatonia:Maricruz Gonzales

Ganado: Jazsmyne Foster, Alex Mojica

Goliad: Kassidy Nicholson

Gonzales: Devon Williams

Hallettsville: Jensen Schindler, Avery Drummond

Hallettsville Sacred Heart: Briana Haas, Delaney Etzler, Carley Haas.

Industrial: Kylann Griffith, Chloe Darilek, Desiree Hill, Skylar Lenamaon

Karnes City: Kierea Robinson, Kendall Kelley

Kenedy: Larissa Miller, Ali Mireles, Makayla Sanchez

Louise: Madison DeLosSantos, Madison Bartlett

Nixon-Smiley: Katie Tschoepe

Refugio: Jasmine Perez

Schulenburg: Caitlin Norrell, Deadra Jackson, Chelsea Stewart, Brynlee Hollas

Shiner: Alexandra Overton, Kailey Williams

Shiner St. Paul: Grace Irvin, Delynn Pesek, Parker Clay

Tidehaven: Marie Galvan

Van Vleck: Ciara Brown

Waelder: Malorie Puente, Brejhai Montgomery

Wharton: Roberta Farris

Woodsboro: Makayla Scott, Hannah Hubbard

Yoakum: Jordan Payne, Lauren Caka, Madison Harrison, Ashley Taylor, Morgan Vinklarek

Yorktown: Katelyn Dodds

Boys Awards


Raymond Martinez, Senior, guard, Bloomington, 22 ppg, 8.9 rpg 4.8 apg, 5.8 spg

Co-Offensive Players of the Year

Myles Thomas, Senior, Guard Schulenburg 14.8 ppg, 9.5 rpg, 3.3 apg, 3.4 spg

Kenny Haynes, Junior, Guard, Edna 18 ppg, 10 rpg, 4 spg, 2 apg

Defensive Player of the Year

Conner Blahuta, Senior, Point Guard, Moulton 10.2 ppg, 3.6 rpg, 2.1 spg

Newcomer of the Year

Tre'lin Harper, Sophomore, Post, Cuero, 12 ppg, 9 rpg, 2 bpg

Coach of the Year

Trent Weixelman, Palacios

- Weixelamn led Palacios to its first every playoff win in school history. The Sharks made history with their third straight trip to the postseason

Boys First team

Malik Mitchell Senior, Guard, Van Vleck, 20.3, 8.7 reb, 4.2 ast

Caleb Nieto, Junior, Moulton 18.5 ppg, 5.5 reb,

Rocky Morris Senior, Guard, Goliad 20.3 ppg, 8 rpg, 5 ast

Bob Mejia, Senior, Guard, Victoria West, 17 ppg, 3.5 reb, 1.3 ast

Marquis Edwards, Sophomore, Guard,  Bay City, 17.5 ppg, 7.3 reb, 2.0 stl

Chase Ford, Senior, Point Guard, Palacios, 15.4 ppg, 3.6 rpg, 7 apg

Second team

Quincy Johnson, So., Victoria East

Kordell Etheridge, Sr., Calhoun

Ja-Mel Wade, Sr., Yorktown

Tavion Varela, Jr., St. Joseph 

Colby Robinson, Sr., Karnes City

Josh Wagner, Sr., Hallettsville

Honorable Mention 

Victoria East: Wallace McNary, D'ary Patton, Ed Clay

St. Joseph: Tomas Young, Collin Omecinski

Bay City: Taveon Roberson, Rodney Mitchell, Marcus Edwards

Beeville: Joesea De La Cruz, Donyvan Givens, Thomas Dang, Patrick Langley

Bloomington: Clayton Janis, Andrew Martinez, Marcos Gonzalez

Calhoun: Stephen Banres, Jaylen Stewart 

Cuero: Jadyn Mitchell, Payton Walk, Daemien Robles

Edna: Reese Orsak, Khaliyl Barnes

El Campo: Reed Spenrath, Charles Shorter, Jalen Robinson

Falls City: Corey Dziuk, Brady Lyssy, Dillon Dziuk, Garrett Lyssy

Faith Academy: Jonathan Boehm, Tanner Moore, Austin Cade, Brandon Desano, Joshua Pisors

Flatonia: Austin Rios, Jonathan Netro, Juan Netro

Ganado: Larson Workman, Logan Hurt, Sergio Martinez 

Goliad: Dontavion Clay, Westin Wimberley

Gonzales: Trevion McNeil, Contrell Smith, Mason Richter

Hallettsville: Sedrik York, Chase Thigpen, DJ Taylor

Hallettsville Sacred Heart: Adam Pavlicek,  Dalton Grahmann

Industrial: Nathan Hammock, Dylan Guzman, Collin Long, Logan Gabrysch,

Karnes City: Sergio Garcia

Kenedy: Dedrick Wilson, Patrick Lopez

Louise: Colin Gonzales, Kyler Marek

Moulton: Atley Pilat, Slaid Darilek, Brandon Kram, Cody Broussard, Devin McCloud

Nixon-Smiley: Colby Newman, Jason Yell

Palacios: Zach Seaman, Johnny Gatica, Camron Polk, Javier Molina

Refugio: Armoni Brown, DJ Campbell

Rice Consolidated: Warren Scott, Joshua Grounds

Schulenburg: Leo Veloz, Jase Hollas, Jack Seyl, Jaxon Fiestam, Miles Marburger

Shiner: Tyler Mikes, Lane Nevlud

Shiner St. Paul: Joseph Natal, River River Haynes, Kai Giese, Cole Brown, William Knox, Dalton Jahn, Weston Gieger

Tidehaven: Bryce Galvan, Jesse Rodriguez

Van Vleck: Alvin Stredic, A.J. Stredic, Kaleb Burrell, Christian Ellis

Waelder: Carlos Reyes, Colby Thorne, Isaiah Ewing, Joshua Jones, Isaiah Jones

Weimar: Clay Barton, DaVondre Almedia, Vicente Cabrera, Colton Christian, Jacobi Rhodes

Wharton: Kamen Dickerson, J'lynn Davis, DaBraelyn Finex, Clarence Branch

Woodsboro: Tyler Foster, Tristan Briseno,  

Yoakum: Josh Moore, Travis Barnett, Issac Pope

Yorktown: Corey Pargmann, Dylan Sinast, Tanner Koricanek


You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

I have always wanted to cover sports since I was a little kid, whether it was reading a newspaper, watching television, or listening to sports talk radio. My family is from Victoria, and it's good to be back home.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Transparency. Your full name is required.
Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article. And receive photos, videos of what you see.
Don’t be a troll. Don’t be a troll. Don’t post inflammatory or off-topic messages, or personal attacks.

Thank you for reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.

To subscribe, click here. Already a subscriber? Click here.