Hall of Fame quarterback Dan Fouts chosen as 2009 recipient of Davey O'Brien Award

Sept. 22, 2009 at 4:22 a.m.

By Jimmy Burch

McClatchy Newspapers


Dan Fouts, a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame who was the first NFL quarterback to top the 4,000-yard passing mark in three consecutive seasons, has been selected as recipient of the 2009 Davey O'Brien Legends Award.

Officials at the Davey O'Brien Foundation announced Fouts' selection Tuesday. Fouts will be honored Feb. 15, 2010, at the Fort Worth Club.

The former San Diego Chargers standout becomes the ninth recipient of the Legends Award, established in 2001 to recognize a former college or professional quarterback who made a significant contribution to the game of football while also demonstrating leadership skills and exemplary conduct off the field.

Past recipients of the Legends Award include Joe Theismann (2008), Steve Spurrier (2007), Paul Hornung (2006), Len Dawson (2005), Archie Manning (2004), Terry Bradshaw (2003), Bart Starr (2002) and Roger Staubach (2001).

In a statement, Fouts said: "It is an honor to be recognized among my peers for this award and to be recognized among some of football's greatest quarterbacks."

During an NFL career that spanned 15 seasons (1973-87), Fouts threw for 43,040 yards and 254 touchdowns. He was named the AFC's Most Valuable Player in 1979 and established an NFL single-season passing record in 1981 (since broken) when he threw for a career-high 4,802 yards.

A current CBS football analyst on NFL telecasts, Fouts was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1993. His No. 14 jersey is one of two retired numbers in the history of the Chargers' organization.

As a college quarterback at Oregon, Fouts set 19 school records, including marks for passing yardage (5,995 yards) and total offense (5,871 yards) that stood for 14 years after hisgraduation.


(c) 2009, Fort Worth Star-Telegram.

Visit the Star-Telegram on the World Wide Web at http://www.star-telegram.com.

Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia