Twisters join new AF1 league

Sept. 29, 2009 at 4:29 a.m.

NORTH LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) — The Arkansas Twisters are to be members of the new Arena Football 1 league.

Sixteen teams will comprise the new league, which includes members of the AF2 league and the Arena Football League, the latter of which declared bankruptcy in August and didn't play last season. AF1 announced Monday it will start play in April.

In addition to the Twisters, which play in North Little Rock, teams in the new league are: Bossier-Shreveport, La.; Chicago; Des Moines, Iowa; Fresno, Calif.; Huntsville, Ala; Jacksonville, Fla.; Kennewick, Wash.; Lexington, Ky.; Milwaukee; Oklahoma City; Orlando, Fla.; Phoenix; Spokane, Wash.; Salt Lake City; and Tulsa, Okla.

Chicago, Iowa, Orlando and Salt Lake City had teams in the original Arena Football League.


Information from: Arkansas Democrat-Gazette,



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia