Rep. Geanie Morrison to give UHV commencement address

April 30, 2010 at 10:04 p.m.
Updated April 29, 2010 at 11:30 p.m.

State Rep. Geanie Morrison, whose work during the last legislative session helped ensure that the University of Houston-Victoria would be able to add underclassmen this upcoming fall, will give the keynote address during the university's May 15 spring graduation ceremony.

"We are honored to have Rep. Morrison as our spring commencement speaker," UHV President Tim Hudson said. "Her ongoing support and commitment to UHV's success has helped put us on the path to becoming a destination university able to serve our region and our state with high-quality, affordable, undergraduate and graduate programs."

Morrison is serving her sixth term in the Texas Legislature. For the 81st legislative session, she was appointed to the House Committee on Appropriations and as vice chair of the Appropriations Subcommittee on Education.

She also serves on the Appropriations Subcommittee on Stimulus funding, as the co-chair of the National Council of State Legislatures - Blue Ribbon Commission on Higher Education, and as a commissioner of the Education Commission of the States.

During the most recent session, Morrison introduced House Bill 1056, which Gov. Rick Perry signed on June 19 to allow UHV to add its First 200 freshmen and sophomores in the fall.

She also recently formed the Crossroads Commission on Education, made up of community leaders who are researching and making recommendations about issues that impact all levels of educational attainment.

"It is a privilege to have been asked to speak at the UHV commencement ceremony," Morrison said. "I have long been a vocal advocate for the importance of education and to be able to recognize these students for their hard work and achievements is truly an honor."

Morrison has received numerous honors for her commitment to education, including being recognized by the Texas Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators as Legislator of the Year.

She has received the Texas Higher Education Leadership Star Award from the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, the Educational Testing Services Legislative Excellence in Education Award, the Texas Community College Teachers Association Legislator of the Year Award and the Distinguished Service Award presented by the Texas Regional Collaboratives.

Most recently, she was recognized in 2009 by Texans for Fiscal Responsibility with a Taxpayers Champion Award and the Texas Association of Business with a Texas Legislature's Champions and Fighters for Free Enterprise Award.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia