Victoria City Council election results official

May 11, 2010 at 12:11 a.m.

Results from Saturday's city council election were declared official by the city council Tuesday, returning all three incumbents to office for three years.

Mayor Will Armstrong, Super District 5 Council Member Joe Truman and Super District 6 Council Member Tom Halepaska were all sworn in at the meeting by City Secretary Scarlet Swoboda.

The Super District 5 vote totals are 483 for Truman and 439 for Emett Alvarez. The Super District 6 totals are 1,276 for Halepaska and 1,156 for Jeff Williams.

In the mayor's race, Armstrong got 1,953 votes and Robin Holy got 893. There were 367 write-in votes cast, including 333 for declared write-in candidate Chelle Nickerson.

Other write-in ballots were cast for such people as Council Member David Hagan, Williams and Omar Rachid.

The turnout amounted to 9.6 percent of the 35,266 registered voters in the city.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia