VISD board to discuss hazardous areas for busing

May 18, 2010 at 12:18 a.m.
Updated May 19, 2010 at 12:19 a.m.

Because Victoria West High School and Cade Middle School are off a highway with heavy traffic, all students who attend those schools could be eligible for busing.

The two schools are located on Tropical Drive off U.S. Highway 87.

The Victoria school board is expected to adopt a policy to allow the busing at a regular board meeting at 6 p.m. Thursday at the Education Center.

Each school year, the Victoria school district transportation office is required by the state to identify areas that would be hazardous to students if they walked to school, said Angie Sherman, school district director of transportation.

"It's done to avoid students walking across streets with fast, heavy traffic," Sherman said.

For the 2010-11 school year, the transportation office has identified 16 schools that have hazardous areas, including Victoria West and Cade, Sherman said.

Other schools include Shields Magnet School, Hopkins Magnet School, Dudley Magnet School and Chandler Elementary School, among others, Sherman said.

Generally, the school district does not provide transportation for students who live within a two-mile radius of the school - unless they live in an area deemed by the board as hazardous.

Students who attend schools with hazardous areas become eligible to be bussed to and from school during the school bus' regular transportation hours.

Once the areas are approved by the board, the state will then fund the school district with 10 percent of operating costs for the transportation department.

In other business, the board will re-swear in Bernie Klimist and James Murphy, who were both unopposed in the May 2010 election. Michael DiSanto, who filled in for Ray Walden's term until it expired in May, will also be re-sworn in Thursday.

The board is also expected to elect officers, which include a president, vice president and secretary.

The current officers are Lou Svetlik, president; Tami Keeling, vice-president; Estella De Los Santos, secretary.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia