Titans' Yates named MVP of District 30-4A

Nov. 30, 2010 at 5:30 a.m.

Victoria East faced Mission Veterans Memorial for their area round playoff gamel Saturday at the Alamodome in San Antonio.ANGELI WRIGHT/AWRIGHT@VICAD.COM

Victoria East faced Mission Veterans Memorial for their area round playoff gamel Saturday at the Alamodome in San Antonio.ANGELI WRIGHT/AWRIGHT@VICAD.COM

Ervin Yates proved to be nearly unstoppable for most of the season for Victoria East.

He was near the top of the district in rushing yards, and added strong passing stats in first year after transferring from Edna.

And the senior was rewarded by being unanimously named the top player in District 30-4A by the coaches, part of a near sweep of the awards by the Titans.

Yates finished with 2,361 passing yards, and threw for at least one touchdown in all but two games this season. He finished with 25

He also finished with 1,113 rushing yards on 11 touchdowns in 13 games this season.

Titans coach Mickey Finley was named the district's coach of the year after the team finished 11-2 this weekend and making it to the regional round of the Class 4A, Division I playoffs. Victoria East also had a perfect district record, winning all of its games by an average of 22 points.

The Titans also scored the defensive player of the year in junior Nic Wallace, who ranked near the top of the district in tackles before being sidelined halfway through the final regular season game with a knee injury.

Victoria East and West split the newcomer awards, with the offensive newcomer going to running back Chris Franklin, and the defensive newcomer going to East linebacker Andrew Adame.

For the Titans, Roderick Warren and Josh McClure were named top running back and top receiver respectively, while Steven Martinez was named top defensive back.

Victoria West also score the top linebacker in the district in junior middle linebacker Brandon Cady.

Calhoun quarterback Joseph Bargas was named the top offensive player in the district, one of two players selected for a district award from the Sandcrabs.

The other was Rudy Pesina, who was named the district's top offensive lineman.

District 30-4A AwardS

MVP: Ervin Yates, East

Offensive MVP: Joseph Bargas, Calhoun

Defensive MVP: Nic Wallace, East

Newcomers: Chris Franklin, West; Andrew Adame, East

Off. back: Roderick Warren, East

Receiver: Josh McClure, East

Off. lineman: Rudy Pesina, Calhoun

Tight End: Steven Roggeman, G-P; Conner Shears, Beeville

Def. lineman: Patrick Frost, G-P

Linebacker: Brandon Cady, West

Def. back: Steven Martinez, East

First team, District 30-4A, offense:

QB: Kyle Fishbeck, G-P, sr.

RB: Jeremy Loya, Calhoun, jr.*; Michael Johnson, G-P, sr.

FB: Brandon Griffith, Calhoun, jr.

WR: Justin McArthur, G-P, sr.; Seth Harrison, West, jr.

TE: Colton Wallace, Floresville, sr.

C: Kohlton Tegeler, East, sr.; Jared Alford, G-P, sr.; Enrique Olachia, Calhoun, sr.

G: Tomas Trevino, G-P, sr.; Ta'Marcus Jackson, East, sr.; Danny Ovalle, Calhoun, sr.

T: Houston Ward, G-P, sr.; Thaelen Villareal, Calhoun, jr.

P: Jimmy Salinas, G-P, sr.

K: Noble Mu, Calhoun, sr.

First team, District 30-4A, defense:

DL: Kohlton Tegeler, East, sr.; Taylor Nolte, G-P, jr.; Christian Litsey, Calhoun, jr.; Donovan Saldana, Floresville, jr.

DE: Jared Dement, G-P, sr.; Nick McCrory, Calhoun, jr.; Nick Waters, Beeville, sr.

LB: Aaron Garza, G-P, sr.; Alex Trevino, Calhoun, jr.; Armando Gonzales, Beeville, sr.; Austin Bivins, East, sr.

CB: Josh McClure, East, sr.*; Chance Daniel, Calhoun, sr.

S: Ervin Polasek, G-P, sr.; Jaime Thomas, East, sr.

    • unanimous selection.

Second team, District 30-4A, offense:

QB: Kyle Motal, West, sr.

RB: Carlos Murphy, Floresville, sr.; Frankie Gutierrez, Beeville, jr.

FB: Roman Rodriguez, G-P, sr.

WR: Jared Dolezal, West, sr.; Steven Martinez, East, sr.

TE: Jammie Dooms, G-P, sr.; Zach Mueller, West, sr.

C: Zach Castro, Beeville, sr.

G: Josh Morgan, West, sr.; Henry Galindo, Beeville, jr.

T: Jacobi Eldridge, West, sr.; Lorenzo Vega, East, jr.

P: Cole Allen, Floresville, sr.

K: Joel Gonzales, East, jr.

Second team, District 30-4A defense:

DL: Ta'Marcus Jackson, East, sr.; Michael McMillon, G-P, sr.; Andrew Camacho, Calhoun, sr.; Marco Varra, Beeville, jr.; Chaz Johnson, West, soph.

DE: Lorenzo Vega, East, jr.; Lupe Rivera, Calhoun, jr.; Brodie Herrington, G-P, sr.

LB: Ebb Garrett, West, sr.; Preston Smallwood, G-P, sr.; Marcus Klamm, Calhoun, soph.; Cole Allen, Floresville, sr.

CB: Jayce Serrano, West, jr.; Sebastian Rodriguez, Beeville, sr.

S: Jimmy Salinas, G-P, sr.; Justin Kalinowski, East, jr.

Honorable mentions:

East: Johnathan Garner, RB, jr.; Jonathan Dale, T, sr.; Ty'ree Lewis, DE, jr.

West: Josh Valdez, WR, jr.; Kyle Loescher, C, jr.; Qwelian Tanner, T, sr.; Terry Ramey, DE, jr.; Ryan Dibble, LB, sr.; Aaron Hopkins, CB, sr.; Felipe Bastida, K, jr.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia