Ballot set for municipal, school elections

April 30, 2011 at 10:01 p.m.
Updated April 29, 2011 at 11:30 p.m.

These are the races that will be elected on May 14.

Many entities canceled their elections and declared the candidates elected because the candidates were unopposed.

For early voting times and location, call the city hall or school district in your city.

In Victoria County, the Victoria school district has the only contested races.

Incumbent L. J. (Lou) Svetlik is being challenged by Garland (Butch) Smith for District 3.

Kevin VanHook is being challenged by Jake Gonzalo Flores for the District 1 unexpired term.

Candidates in area counties are listed below.

Calhoun County

Point Comfort City Council

Three to be elected: Troy Baxter, 49, incumbent; Linda Brush, 65, incumbent; Mitchal McBride, 50; Johnny Warren, 54.

Seadrift City Council

Three to be elected: Wesley Hunt, 49, incumbent; Jack LaBarge, 65; Joe Beaver Jr., 54; Johnny Mickolas, 43, incumbent.

DeWitt County

Cuero City Council

District 1, John Fuqua, 63, Cuero, sales, incumbent; District 4, Roy Johnson, 72, Cuero, retired, incumbent; At-Large, two to be elected, Tony Allen, 66, Cuero, retired, incumbent; Bill Matthys, 65, Cuero, retired, incumbent; Chris Hernandez, 39, Cuero, peace officer.

Cuero School Board

District 3, Polly Laging, 41, Cuero, vice-president oilfield company; District 4, Pat Koranek, 66, Cuero, retired postal worker, incumbent; Jeff Smith, 35, Cuero, sales representative.

Yorktown City Council

Mayor, Rene Hernandez, 54, Yorktown, machinist, incumbent. City Council At-Large, two to be elected, Robert Ludwick, 47, Yorktown, postal worker, incumbent; Jerry Alvarez, 49, Yorktown, fence builder, incumbent; Mitchell Martin, 44, Yorktown, plumber.

Yorktown School Board

At-Large, five to be elected: Alex Campbell, 34, Yorktown, detention officer, incumbent; Mark Niemeier, 47, Yorktown, service technician, incumbent; Keary Perez, 32, Yorktown, restaurant manager; Nelda Sertuche, 55, Yorktown, office manager/tax advisor, incumbent; Barry Watson, 48, Yorktown, chief financial officer, incumbent; Mark Weischwill, 57, Yorktown, insurance/real estate; Boyd Weise, 48, Yorktown, electric company field engineer, incumbent; James Williams, 38, Yorktown, scan coordinator.

Goliad County

Goliad City Council

At-large, three to be elected: Buddy Zavesky, 63, incumbent; Matt Bochat, 45, incumbent; Vicki Rubio, 37; Arturo "Art" Garza, 53; Daniel Boots, 35; Richard Villarreal, 43; Lionel Garcia, 53; all of Goliad.

Goliad School Board

District 2, Robert DeLaGarza, 44, Goliad; Erika Bochat, 44, Goliad.

Jackson County

Ganado City Council

At-large, three to be elected: Calvin Callies, 49, Edna, incumbent; Peter Strauss, 49, Edna, incumbent; Robin Bauerle 79, Edna, incumbent; Blake Petrash 27, Edna; Carl Russelburg 51, Edna.

Edna School Board

District 7, Tracy Loos 41; Donnie Mac Long, 40; Jose Rodriguez 60.

Lavaca County

Hallettsville School Board

Place 6, David Ehler, 52, Hallettsville, small business owner/store manager, incumbent; Sarah Allen Kram, 30, Hallettsville, attorney; Susan Seay, 47, Hallettsville, accountant/homemaker; Place 7, Kevin Myers, 40, Hallettsville, college facilities director; Cindy Caraway, 47, Moulton, certified public accountant.

Shiner City Council

Mayor, Fred Henry Hilscher, 53, banker, incumbent; Dennis Vargo, 36, Shiner, consultant; City Council, At-Large, two to be elected: David Schroeder, 41, Shiner, registered nurse, incumbent; Mark Jalufka, 44, Shiner, sales, incumbent.

Moulton City Council

Mayor, Cynthia "Cindy" McIntosh, 59, Moulton, small business owner, incumbent; Ervin Patek, 68, Moulton, self-employed; City Council - Place 1, Diane C. Rothbauer, 48, Moulton, office manager, incumbent; Alphonse "Al" Fojtik, 69, Moulton, retired; Lester Hohensee, 75, auditor; Place 2, Minnie Lee Fisbeck, 73, Moulton, retired, incumbent; Gregory "GR" Berckenhoff, 56, Moulton, self-employed.

Refugio County

Refugio City Council

Mayor, Ray Jaso, 72, incumbent; Richard P. Ramirez, 61, both of Refugio; City Council - Place 1, Karen A. Watts, 56, incumbent; William H. (Bill) Rayburn, 76, both of Refugio; Place 2, Garrett Engelking, 38, incumbent; Joey Heard, 53, both of Refugio.

Bayside City Council

Place 1, Karen Clark, incumbent; Place 4, Al Posas, incumbent; Place 5, Orville Downs, incumbent; Francisco "Frank" Briseno, Jr., all from Bayside.

Woodsboro School Board

Place 1, Scott Carter, 49, incumbent; Calvin A. Wilson, 40; Ruby Jo Martinez, 39; all from Woodsboro; Place 2, Robert L. (Robbie) Thomas, 56, incumbent; Rachel Wilson, 40; both from Woodsboro.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia