DISTRICT 16-1A, D-I: Kenedy hopes for second straight playoff berth

Aug. 25, 2011 at 3:25 a.m.

Kenedy finally tasted the playoffs last season.

Now, the Lions are hungry for more.

Following an 11-year absence from the postseason, Kenedy earned a long-awaited berth in 2010 by finishing second in the District 16-1A Division I race, but promptly had its run halted as Yorktown won a high-scoring affair 36-29.

Despite the loss, Kenedy's trip to the playoffs inspired the team and sparked a desire and determination to return. Lions head coach Lin Havron, however, knows it will not be easy, especially once district play begins.

After all, with four teams competing for three playoff spots, there is little room for error.

"We are just preparing for that time when every game is important and every play is important," Havron said. "We treat every play like it is our last play."

La Villa suffered due to Kenedy's success as the Cardinals missed the playoffs after posting a 6-1 record during its nondistrict schedule before losing all three district games.

The Cardinals will have a chip on its shoulder and plenty of firepower on offense thanks the quarterback Armando Garza and running back Ricky Cantu, who led the district in passing and rushing, respectively.

Ben Bolt is the defending district champion and will be in contention once again, but must account for the loss of starting quarterback Aaron Bueno.

Regardless of who ends up filling the void at quarterback - junior Frankie Galvan appears poised to claim the job - all-state receiver Andres Alaniz will be a prime target.

Charlotte enters the season adjusting to a new head coach for the third time in the the last three seasons and must replace the departure of the its starting quarterback Victor Duran, leading rusher Jake Goudeau and leading receiver Noe Lopez.

While the path will not be easy, Havron believes his team can make a second consecutive trip to the playoffs, even if the Lions lose all of their nondistrict contests.

"Anything can happen," the coach said. "It doesn't matter what your record is. Nothing matters except those last three games. The experience we had last year, that helped everyone understand that."



Coach: Lin Havron

Years at current school: 3

Record at current school: 8-13

Years as head coach: 13

Overall record: 72-62-1

Last year's record: 4-6, 2-1 district

Last playoff appearance: 2010, bi-district

Returning starters: QB Rollie Zepeda, OT Sheldon Hons, C/DE Cristian Zaragoza, OT Aaron Castillo, WR/FS Tristan Mejia, TE Isaac Cruz, S Miguel Morales, CB Emilio Mendoza, LB Sergio Morales.


1 J.D. De Los Santos QB/DB Jr.
2 Rolando Zepeda QB/DB Jr.
3 Deon Mayberry RB/LB Sr.
4 Sergio Morales RB/LB Sr.
11 Weston Hallmark WR/DB Jr.
12 James Lopez TE/LB Jr.
13 Eddie Villarreal RB/LB Jr.
15 Kris Bryant WR/DB Jr.
20 Tristan Mejia WR/DB Sr.
22 Jared Weatherly RB/LB Jr.
25 Emilio Mendoza WR/DB Sr.
28 Sammy Martinez DB/LB Sr.
30 Roy Navejar WR/DB Sr.
33 Jon Asebedo RB/DB Jr.
44 Issac Cruz TE/DL Jr.
50 Sheldon Hons OL/DL Jr.
51 Miguel Morales OL/DL Sr.
52 Ray J. Garza OL/DL So
54 Nathaniel Alvarez OL/LB Jr.
56 Cristian Zaragoza OL/DL Sr.
64 Nathan Hernandez OL/DL Jr.
72 Daryn Schultz OL/DL Sr.
74 Aaron Castillo OL/DL Sr.
77 Jay Salinas OL/DL Sr.
78 Vincenta Barrera OL/DL Jr.
88 Charles Lobner TE/LB Sr.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia