East's Elkins named District 30-4A co-MVP; West's Hoerig, East's Quinterro are top newcomers

May 18, 2011 at 12:18 a.m.

Victoria East split the district title with Gregory-Portland. The teams also split the District 30-4A MVP.

East sophomore catcher Lexie Elkins was named co-MVP in softball along with Hailey Kirkland, a senior pitcher from Gregory-Portland. East split the regular season district title with the Ladycats, and won a one-game playoff for the top spot in extra innings, 3-2.

The Titans won two awards, including splitting the Newcomer of the Year award. Freshman pitcher Alisha Quinterro won a share of the award with West pitcher Karly Rae Hoerig. The Titans' Marina Rios also won Defensive Player of the Year.

Calhoun's Tiffany Castillo was named Offensive Player of the Year after batting .661 this season with 13 home runs for the 31-9-1 Sandies, who made it the furthest of any team from the district by reaching the regional quarterfinals before losing to Tuloso-Midway last weekend.

Victoria East landed three on the first team, including shortstop Briana Arguello, designated player Kaitlyn Morgan and center fielder AC Cruz.

The Warriors double play combination of Abby Mease and Sevanah Campos Reyes also earned first-team honors. For Calhoun, junior pitcher Marissa Snyder, senior second baseman Rilea Whitaker and outfielder Hillarie Hill were also on the first team.


Co-Coach of the Year

. Jody Morgan - Victoria East

  1. Felicia Talamantez - Gregory Portland


. Lexie Elkins - Catcher - Victoria East- Sophomore

  1. Hailey Kirkland- Pitcher - Gregory Portland - Senior

Co-Newcomer of the Year

. Alisha Quinterro - Pitcher - Victoria East - Freshman

  1. Karly Hoerig - Pitcher - Victoria West - Sophomore

Defensive Player of the Year

. Marina Rios - Third Base - Victoria East - Junior

Offensive Player of the Year

. Tiffany Castillo - Catcher - Calhoun - Junior


P: Tori Bayer, Floresville, jr.; Marissa Snyder, Calhoun, jr.

C: Myrissa Sanchez, Gregory Portland, soph.

1B: Anyssa Barbosa, Beeville, soph.

2B: Rilea Whitaker, Calhoun, sr.

3B: Loren Stuive, Gregory Portland, sr.

SS: Sevanah Campos-Reyes, Victoria West, jr.

OUTFIELD: AC Cruz, Victoria East, sr.; Marina Cisneros, Gregory Portland, sr.; JJ Hernandez, Beeville, sr.; Hillarie Hill, Calhoun, jr.

UTILITY: Abby Mease, Victoria West, sr; Briana Arguello, Victoria East, soph.; Taylor Lawson, Beeville, soph.

DP: Kaitlyn Morgan, Victoria East, Junior

FLEX: Sophia Gomez, Gregory Portland, Senior


P: Courtney Perez - Beeville - Senior

C: Kasey Tieken, Floresville, fresh.

1B: Angela Robisheaux, Victoria East, sr.

2B: Amie Cisneros, Gregory-Portland, fresh.

3B: Brittany Dworaczyk, Calhoun, soph.

SS: Darian Sanchez, Calhoun, soph.

OUTFIELD: Jaylee Fernandez, Floresville, jr.; Emily Skipper, Victoria West, jr.; Mackenzie Payne, Gregory Portland, fr.; Jennie Johnson, Victoria East, jr.

Honorable Mention

. Lauren Martin, Gregory Portland, soph.; Emily Applewhite, Gregory Portland, soph.; Jodie Garcia, Victoria East, soph.; Monica Salazar, Victoria East, soph; Katie Moore, Floresville, sr.; Madison Dominguez, Floresville, sr.; Kaitlin Montoya, Floresville, soph.; Theresa Amador, Beeville; April De Los Santos, Beeville; Kati May, Calhoun, sr.; Lauren Munoz, Calhoun, soph.; Summer Wunderlich, Calhoun, jr.; Mackenzie Zwerchke, Calhoun, fr.; Daren Gallup, Victoria West, jr.; Kaylee Krawietz, Victoria West, jr.; Priscilla Jimenez, Victoria West, soph.; Allena Cannady, Victoria West, soph.; Eboni Murphy, Victoria West, sr.

Academic All-District

  1. Lexie Elkins - Victoria East - Sophomore

  2. Angela Robisheaux - Victoria East - Senior

  3. Kaitlyn Morgan - Victoria East - Junior

  4. Marina Rios - Victoria East - Junior

  5. Alisha Quinterro - Victoria East - Freshman

  6. Monica Salazar - Victoria East - Sophomore

  7. Allena Cannady - Victoria West

  8. Daren Gallup - Victoria West

  9. Abby Mease - Victoria West

  10. Kati May - Calhoun

  11. Rilea Whitaker - Calhoun

  12. Tiffany Castillo - Calhoun

  13. Jordan Cox - Calhoun

  14. Marissa Snyder - Calhoun

  15. Darian Sanchez - Calhoun

  16. McKenzie Zwerschke - Calhoun

  17. Summer Wunderlich - Calhoun



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia