Lavaca commissioners name justice of the peace replacement

Oct. 27, 2011 at 5:27 a.m.

Moulton attorney Travis Hill has been appointed Lavaca County Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2, to replace Fred Nieto, who resigned on Aug. 31.

The Lavaca County Commissioners Court voted 3-2 Monday to name Hill to the position.

Commissioners Ronald Berckenhoff, David Wagner and Dennis Kocian voted in favor with Charles Netardus and County Judge Tramer Woytek voting against.

Hill was a candidate for Lavaca County district clerk in the Democratic Primary in March.

Nieto, who submitted his resignation on Aug. 31, is under investigation by the Lavaca County District Attorney's Office for business activities at his now-closed used car business.

An audit of Nieto's county operations revealed no improprieties, said Woytek.

The position will be on the 2012 county election ballot to fill the term until 2014.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia