East boys headline All-District 59-4A soccer team

April 12, 2012 at 1:02 a.m.
Updated April 11, 2012 at 11:12 p.m.

Despite winning the district championship and having more than a quarter of the selections on the All-District team, there may have been one surprise from the Victoria East camp when the District 59-4A All-District team was released.

East senior midfielder/forward Cole Fimbel was the Offensive MVP.

Meanwhile, Corpus Christi Moody sophomore Eden Gonzales was named the district's Most Valuable Player, despite the Trojans missing the playoffs.

In all, Victoria East had six first team selections, while Victoria West had four of the 21 first team selections.

Casey Brown and Joel Gonzales from Victoria East were part of the seven-person midfield. West's Eric Robinson was also an All-District midfielder.

West junior Korey Parks earned his first All-District selection. The central defense partnership of Shai Beltran and Eric Mansker at East were also first team defenders.

Sophomore goalkeepers Juan Gonzalez and Ricky Stratmann were both first team selections. With both boys in goal, Victoria West and Victoria East advanced a round further in the 2012 playoffs than a year ago.

West senior winger Fabian Salazar also made the All-District team as a forward. Salazar scored the game-winning goal in the Warriors 3-1 bi-district win over Flour Bluff.

Here is the team, as selected by the coaches.

Most Valuable Player: Eden Gonzales, Corpus Christi Moody

Offensive MVP: Cole Fimbel Victoria East

Defensive MVP: Charlie Camacho Rockport-Fulton

Newcomer of the Year: Wilson Brown Gregory-Portland, Edgar Garcia Rockport-Fulton

Coach of the Year: Tim Eaton Victoria East

First Team Forward

Fabian Salazar, Victoria West

Manuel Iwabuchi, Rockport-Fulton

Jorge Rodriguez, Gregory-Portland

Jorge Posada, Corpus Christi Moody

First Team Midfield

Eric Robinson, Victoria West

Evan Sperling, Gregory-Portland

Joel Gonzales, Victoria East

Casey Brown, Victoria East

Edward Martinez, Corpus Christi Miller Sr

Leo Caudillo, Corpus Christi Ray

Jose Gomez, Corpus Christi Moody

First Team Defender

David Jackson, Corpus Christi Ray

Shai Beltran, Victoria East

Eric Mansker, Victoria East

Logan Flores, Gregory-Portland

Slayton Hierholzer, Rockport

Korey Parks Victoria West Jr

First Team Goalie

Ricky Stratmann, Victoria East

Juan Gonzalez, Victoria West

Second Team

Hector Mendoza, Victoria West

Marcelino Barajas, Rockport-Fulton

Juan Chavarria, Victoria East

Carlos Sonka Corpus, Christi Ray

Dionicio Valadez, Corpus Christi Moody

Erick Estrada, Corpus Christi Ray

Louie Guiterrez, Gregory-Portland

Eli Gaytan, Rockport-Fulton

Miguel Iwabuchi Rockport Sr

Danny Valadez, Victoria West

Jordan Mandujano Gregory-Portland

Parth Amin Rockport-Fulton

John Michael Hernandez, Victoria West

David Andrade, Victoria East

Jesus Ibarra, Corpus Christi Ray

AJ Pineda Corpus, Christi Ray

Armando Olachia, Corpus Christi Moody

Hector Caudillo, Corpus Christi Moody

Sofus Pedersen, Ray

Esau Lopez, Victoria East

Eric Rodriguez, Corpus Christi Moody

Fernando Vela, Corpus Christi Miller

Honorable Mention

Jose Gonzales, Victoria West

Matt Gonzales, Victoria West

Felipe Bastida, Victoria West

Jose Olalde, Victoria West

Marco Segura, Victoria East

CJ Garcia, Victoria East

Wyatt Fimbel, Victoria East

Jacob Lopez, Victoria East

Academic All-District

Pablo Aviles, Victoria East

Ricky Stratmann, Victoria East

Wyatt Fimbel, Victoria East

Dylan Staff, Victoria East

Casey Brown, Victoria East

Cole Fimbel, Victoria East

Joel Gonzales, Victoria East

Eric Mansker, Victoria East

Isai Martinez, Victoria West

Korey Parks, Victoria West

Danny Valadez, Victoria West

Braydon Frazer, Victoria West

Nathan Hermes, Victoria West

Diego Perez, Victoria West

Ernesto Perez, Victoria West

Edward Rodriguez, Victoria West

Anthony Navarro, Victoria West

M. Dylan Sanchez, Victoria West

Pierce Breech, Victoria West



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia