Counseling honors society initiates UHV students

April 30, 2012 at 4:05 p.m.
Updated April 29, 2012 at 11:30 p.m.

SUGAR LAND - Seventeen University of Houston-Victoria students were inducted into an international counseling honors society during a ceremony earlier this month.

The students were initiated into the Mu Kappa Nu chapter of Chi Sigma Iota during an April 13 ceremony at UH Sugar Land.

Mu Kappa Nu is the UHV chapter of Chi Sigma Iota, an international society for students, professional counselors and counselor educators. The mission of Chi Sigma Iota is to promote scholarship, research, professionalism, leadership and excellence in counseling and to recognize high attainment in the pursuit of academic and clinical excellence in the counseling profession.

"It is a privilege to work with every student and especially with students as committed to their studies and their chosen profession as the inductees," said Jeffry Moe, the chapter's faculty supervisor and a UHV assistant professor of counseling. "Membership in Chi Sigma Iota indicates that each inductee is dedicated to personal excellence, leadership and service in both the field and society at large."

The induction ceremony included a presentation by a guest speaker and an awards segment, followed by dinner. After each student took the society's oath, they were awarded a member's certificate and pin.

The new members and their hometowns are:

Teresa Brown, Angleton

Sandra Wilson, Dickinson

Neslyn Carty, Fresno

Judith Alvarado, Houston

Rachel Burke, Houston

Brenda Garcia, Houston

Janie Lagrone, Houston

Liz Tran, Houston

Melody Roshell Yarbough, Houston

Angela Limbrick, Missouri City

Staci Coble-Davis, Pasadena

Venesa Besiris, Richmond

Linda Brown, Sugar Land

Nicole Del'Homme, Sugar Land

Jana Henry, Sugar Land

Christine Moore, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Angela Hsiu-Kuan Tsai, Taiwan



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia