DISTRICT 13-2A, D-II: Is there a challenger for East Bernard?

Aug. 30, 2012 at 3:30 a.m.

Tidehaven's Eric Villarreal runs the ball during a scrimmage against Hallettsville Sacred Heart last week.

Tidehaven's Eric Villarreal runs the ball during a scrimmage against Hallettsville Sacred Heart last week.   Angeli Wright for The Victoria Advocate

The East Bernard Brahmas are accustomed to being the district favorite and 2012 is no different.

After finishing last season 10-2 and reaching the regional semifinals, the Brahmas look for another district title and a deep playoff run.

"We've been the guys with the target on our backs or the one that everybody's gunning for over the years, so it's nothing new to us," said East Bernard coach Jerry Long.

The Brahmas were a perfect 7-0 in district last season and return six offensive and seven defensive starters.

TCU commit and reigning district offensive MVP Ty Slanina will lead the Brahma offense during his senior season. Last year Slanina rushed for 888 yards and threw for 707.

Junior safety Grant Aschenbeck looks to build on a season where he was named the district's Newcomer of the Year.

In 2011, East Bernard advanced to the Class 2A, Div. II Regional semifinals before losing to Sonora in the regional playoffs 28-27.

The Boling Bulldogs look to ride a strong defense to a playoff berth in 2012.

The defensive squad will be anchored by defensive end Eric Gooden who recorded nine sacks and 77 tackles, including 21 for loss, last season.

The Bulldogs went 4-3 in district last season.

A new district gives the Van Vleck Leopards a new outlook in 2012 after losing all six District 14-2A, Division I games last season.

Quarterback Dean Bagby will lead the offense and throw to wide receiver Kylon Brown and hand off to running back Caleb Jones.

For Tidehaven, the goal is simple: make the playoffs. Coach Brent Mascheck said this is possible despite returning just three starters on each side of the ball.

"We want to rekindle the tradition," Mascheck said.

Tidehaven's Eric Villarreal gives the Tigers a versatile offensive threat after rushing for 360 yards and five touchdowns with 127 yards receiving in 2011.

The Tigers went 1-6 in District 15-2A, Division II last year.

East Bernard


• Coach: Jerry Long

• Years at current school: 7

• Record at current school: 49-21

• Years as head coach: 8

• Overall record: 53-27

• Last year's record: 10-2, 7-0 in district

• Last playoff appearance: 2011, regionals

• Returning starters: QB/DB Ty Slanina, FB Joe Richard son, TB Victor Pettit, OL Col in Dusek, OL Mac Gideon, WR Jacob Vincek, DB Trevor Long, DB Grant Aschenbeck, OLB Jack Delmar, DT Austin Lee, DE Jordan Darr, LB Cody Rosales.

2Derrick RuckaQB/DBJr.
3Cedric PerkinsRB/LBJr.
7Kyle HlavinkaSM/LBJr.
8Trevor LongSM/LBJr.
9Victor PettitRB/DBSr.
10Ty SlaninaQB/DBSr.
11Justin McGuireRB/DEJr.
14Grant AschenbeckQB/DBJr.
15Nathan HlavinkaTE/DEJr.
20Garrett PolakRB/LBJr.
21Jack DelmarRB/LBSr.
22Tyler SulakSM/DBJr.
25Jonathan HlavinkaTE/DEJr.
30Zack NewSM/LBJr.
32Nick MicaRB/DBJr.
34Garrett LosackRB/LBJr.
40Joe RichardsonRB/LBJr.
44Zach StavinohaRB/LBSo.
50Andrew KubenaG/DTJr.
52Miles MuzikC/DTSr.
53Ethan RussellT/DTSr.
54Cody RosalesG/LBJr.
55Mac GideonG/DESr.
56Jordan DarrG/DESr.
58Barrett JanecekC/DTJr.
60Will SharpC/LBJr.
62Nathan TovarT/DEJr.
66Jakob JalowyC/DTSr.
72Robert KubenaT/DTJr.
74Austin LeeG/DTSr.
76Josh VincekT/DTSr.
77Colin DusekT/DTSr.
82Garrett DouglasSM/DESr.
84Mario BelmanSM/DBSr.
89Jacob VincekTE/DESr.



• Coach: Brent Mascheck

• Years at current school: 1

• Years as head coach: 8

• Overall record: 36-39

• Last year's record: 1-9, 1-6 in district

• Last playoff appearance: 2008, bi-district

• Returning starters: OLB Peyton Taska-Garner, RB/DB Eric Villarreal, ILB Johnny Piwonka, DL Danny Calixto, OL Josh Leslie.

1Rodrick FisherWR/LBSo.
2Jason FitzgeraldWR/LBSo.
4Eric VillarrealRB/DBSo.
5Mason LedwigRB/LBSo.
7Cameron SidesQB/DBSo.
8Peyton Taska-GenzerWR/LBSo.
9Hunter SahaWR/DBFr.
10Brandon LitzauQB/LBFr.
11Nathan SilvaWR/DBSo.
19Edward PalomaresRB/DBJr.
21Thomas AparicioRB/LBSr.
22Jesus TorresRE/DEJr.
33Fernando PalomaresTE/DESo.
34Danny GitzgeraldTE/DEJr.
51Kyle MoerbeOL/DLFr.
54Phillip ZarateOL/DLSo.
56Vincent PalomaresOL/DLSr.
60Johnny PiwonkaOL/DLSr.
64Shannon McMullenOL/DLSo.
65Josh LaslieOl/DLjr.
66Danny CalixtoOL/DLSr.
68Nathan NeichoyOL/DLSr.
70Stewart FoleyOL/DLSr.
72Damian HernandezOL/DLSo.
73Dylan MallettOL/DLFr.
74Jonathan CornwellOL/DLJr.
84Victor LunaKSo.



• Coach: Shannon Permenter

• Years at current school: 4

• Record at current school: 18-15

• Years as head coach: 4

• Last year's record: 5-5, 4-3 in district

• Last playoff appearance: 2010, area

• Returning starters: TE/LB Riley Riojas, FB/DE Eric Gooden, C/DT Nick Abbott, TB/LB Allen Gillis, OT/DT Kipp Welch, WB/DB Ryan Moreno, DT Jonathan Waddy, FB/DT Kenyatta Woodard.

2Alvaro BeltranWR/CBJr.
3Pete HerreraWB/LBSo.
4Riley RiojasTE/LBSr.
5Jaylon TolbertTB/CBFr.
6Joey GarciaQB/CBSo.
9Eric GoodenRB/DESr.
10Ryan MorenoQB/CBJr.
11Antonio VasquezWB/LBSr.
12Will DouglasWR/LBSr.
17Kevin ZimmermanWR/CBSr.
23Allen GillisRB/LBSr.
25John Allan BockWR/CBSr.
26Jaylen GarciaRB/FSSr.
32Chance StideventRB/DESo.
33Zachary HessionTE/DESr.
34Kenyatta WoodardRB/DTJr.
40Tylar MannTE/DESo.
50Rene RodriguezG/LBSr.
53Tristan HoustonG/DTJr.
54Carlos FernandezG/DESr.
56Chayce HaasG/DESr.
60Kipp WelchT/DTSr.
62Jonathan WaddyG/DTSr.
65Jose MaresT/DTSr.
68Kenny BarnettG/LBSr.
72Damian BourgG/DTSr.
74B.J. YoesT/DTSo.
75Nick AbbottC/DTSr.
76Irving OlveraC/DESJr.
77Daniel FerrelG/DTSo.
80Caleb WinkenwerderG/LBJr.
88Eduardo VegaTE/DTJr.

Van Vleck


• Coach: Greg Bagby

• Years at current school: 3

• Record at current school: 6-14

• Years as head coach: 3

• Last year's record: 2-8, 0-6 in district

• Last playoff appearance: 2004, quarterfinals

• Returning starters: WR/LB Cody Kennemore, WR Kylon Brown, QB Dean Bagby, OL/DE Paul Hill, OL Juwan Callies, OL Colton Eury, LB Trustin Norris, ATH Marcus Brown, DB Caleb Jones.

3Marcus BrownRB/LBSr.
4Kylon BrownWR/DBJr.
5Montrell BrownRB/DBSo.
7Trustin NorrisRB/LBJr.
8Dean BagbyQB/DBJr.
10Phillip WilsonOL/LBSr.
11Colbey CalkWR/DBSo.
14Connor O'BrienRB/DBJr.
19Cody KennemoreWR/DESr.
20Tevin AustinWR/DBJr.
21De'Quan GriceWR/DBJr.
22Teran CaseyWR/DBSo.
23Caleb JonesRB/DBSr.
24Ricky WoodardWR/DBJr.
25D'Marcus MilesDE/LBSo.
51Brandon DonaldsonOL/DLJr.
53Juwan CalliesOL/DLJr.
54Gabe ValladaresOL/LBJr.
55Paul HillOL/DLSo.
56Coleman FranzOL/DLSo.
57Xavier ParksOL/DLJr.
58Marvin WatsonOL/DLSo.
59Parker RawlingsOL/LBJr.
73Bradley AllenOL/DLSr.
74Colter EuryOL/DLJr.
75Scotty GoodmanOL/DLSr.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia