DISTRICT 14-1A, D-II: Louise looks to make waves

Aug. 30, 2012 at 3:30 a.m.

The 2012 season may be the first for the Louise Hornets under Danny Villanueva, but the new coach has high goals for the team.

"We're here to win and I believe we can win, be successful and make the playoffs with the kids that we have now," Villanueva said.

The Hornets hope that a drop to Class 1A, Division II will help them make the playoffs for the first time since 2009.

Louise was 0-6 and 1-9 overall last season in District 15-1A, Division I.

The Hornets will have a throwback look offensively this season with the run heavy Slot-T.

"It's a tough offense to prepare for in three days if you're the opposing defense," Villanueva said.

Senior running back Jose Aguilar will team with sophomore running back Jacob Bill in the backfield this season. In 2011, Aguilar ran for 501 yards and eight touchdowns.

The Hornets will use a 50 defense to help stop opponents from running on them.

The Falls City Beavers enter the season as the district favorites with seven offensive and nine defensive starters returning from last year's District 16-1A, Div. II championship team.

Quarterback Cameron Soto returns after throwing for 1,389 yards and 12 touchdowns while rushing for 780 yards and 11 scores last season.

Soto is joined in the backfield by running back Phillip Lyssy who combined for 985 yards and 15 touchdowns rushing and receiving last year.

Falls City was perfect in district last season and advanced to the state semifinals where it lost to Burton 55-30.

Defensive back Dylan Lopez will lead a Pettus Eagles defense that returns six starters.

In 2011, Lopez' 84 tackles and three interceptions helped the Eagles go 5-1 in District 16-1A, Div. II and advance to the area playoffs before losing to Granger.

Wide receiver Casey Jones returns for the Eagle offense after catching 46 passes for 1,001 yards and 13 touchdowns last year.

Woodsboro head coach Wade Miller will have a veteran group in his first season with the Eagles.

The Eagles return eight offensive and nine defensive starters from a team that was 2-3 in District 16-1A, Div. II last season and 2-8 overall.

The Runge Yellowjackets return 14 starters from a team that was 1-5 in District 16-1, Div. II last season.

They will be led by quarterback Rob Molina who threw fro 425 yards and four touchdowns last year and running back Dylan Torres who rushed for 521 yards.



• Coach: Danny Villanueva

• Years at current school: 1

• Years as head coach: 1

• Last year's record: 1-9, 0-4 district

• Last playoff appearance: 2009, bi-district

• Returning starters: RB/DB George Aguilar, RB/LB Will Siemens, OG Rudy Alvarez, RB/DB Josh Alvarez, OT/DT Mando Vasquez, TE/DE Jaime Rosas.

2Justin DornakWR/DESo.
3Jacob BillRB/LBSo.
4Chris KutacQB/DBSo.
7Chantz HefelfingerWR/DBJr.
8Noe PuentesRB/DBJr.
14Josh AlvarezWR/DBSr.
22William SiemensRB/LBJr.
29George AguilarRB/DBSr.
33Charlie AlvarezRB/DBFr.
50Robert GuevaraOL/DLJr.
51Ethan hulseyOL/LBSr.
52James ClementsOL/DLSr.
57Mando VasquezOL/DLJr.
60Rudy AlvarezOL/DEJr.
64Carlos MartinezOL/DLJr.
65Raul GonzalesOL/DLSo.
66Jaime RosasOL/DLSr.
68Timmy HammanOL/DLJr.
72George FrancoOL/DLJr.
82Lane KocianTE/DLSr.



• Coach: Wade Miller

• Years at current school: 1

• Years as head coach: 1

• Last year's record: 2-8, 1-5 in district

• Last playoff appearance: 2010, bi-district

• Returning starters: QB Tyler Quesada, WR/DB Li onel Brown, WR Freddie Ar riaga, WR/DB Jonathan Flo res, TE/DL Jacob Neslony, OL Dustin Wilson, OL Justin Fierova, OL T.J. Garcia, TE/DL Jared Martinez, DL Brian Wiginton, DL Daniel Ochoa, LB Dillon Starr, LB Robert Arriaga, DB David Carmichael, DB Trent Moses.

2Andy VillarrealWR/DBSo.
3Lionel BrownRB/DBJr.
6Freddie ArriagaWR/LBSr.
7Tyler QuesadaQB/DBSr.
8J.T. BlaschkeWR/DBSr.
10Jonathan FloresRB/DBJr.
11Trent MosesQB/LBJr.
12Donny YanezWR/DBJr.
20Logan MosesWR/DBSr.
22David CarmichaelWR/DBSo.
28Debray BonnerRB/LBSr.
30Robert ArriagaRB/LBJr.
33Jacob NesloneyTE/DLSo.
40/55Daniel OchoaOL/DLJr.
44Dillon StarrRB/LBJr.
45Jared MartinezTE/DLSr.
54Zach LopezOL/DLJr.
57David LopezOL/DLSr.
60Josh MartinezOL/DLSr.
64Mikey BarrazaOL/DLSo.
66Justin FierovaOL/DLJr.
75Brian WigintonOL/DLJr.
76Dustin WilsonOL/DLSr.
80Garrett HornerWR/DBJr.
84Conner PayneTE/LBSr.
88Wyatt FossTE/DLJr.



• Coach: Ken Wallace

• Years at current school: 2

• Record at current school: 2-8

• Years as head coach: 4

• Overall record: 7-16

• Last year's record: 2-8, 1-5 in district

• Last playoff appearance: 1997, bi-district

• Returning starters: QB/LB Rob Molina, RB/DB Dylan Torres, C Bryan Winters, OT Richard Ramirez, OT Levi Lewis, TE Darren Torres, SM/DB Severo Salas, DE Jeric Esparza, DB Kevin Tor res, DB Ryan Bird, DB Travis Perez, LB Ryan Saucedo.

1Steven SalasRB/OLjr.
2Ernie MirandaTE/LBsr.
6Rob MolinaQB/LBsr.
7Darren TorresTE/DLjr.
9Lucas AlvearRB/LBsr.
10Severo SalasTE/DBsr.
11Kevin TorresTE/DBjr.
12Ryan BirdRB/DBso.
14Corey DouglasTE/DLsr.
18Travis PerezQB/DBsr.
22Dylan TorresRB/DBsr.
28Corey BarnesRB/DBjr.
33Eric GutierrezRB/DLsr.
38Jeric EsparzaRB/LBso.
44Justin VasquezRB/LBsr.
54Ryan SaucedoOL/DLjr.
55Richard RamirezOL/DLjr.
59Coty GarzaOL/LBsr.
61Levi LewisOL/DLjr.
75Bryan WintersOL/DLjr.
78Rene SolisOL/DLsr.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia