DISTRICT 15-2A, D-II: Bloomington aims for wins; Karnes City, the playoffs

Aug. 30, 2012 at 3:30 a.m.

New Bloomington coach Layne Elkins is hoping Bloomington can continue to make strides. The Bobcats haven't won a district game since 2002, but have a  chance this year to end that streak.

New Bloomington coach Layne Elkins is hoping Bloomington can continue to make strides. The Bobcats haven't won a district game since 2002, but have a chance this year to end that streak.

After a year of getting accustomed to head coach Jim Wood, the Karnes City Badgers should find themselves in the playoff mix out of District 15-2A, Div. II.

Wood called the 2012 Badgers a tougher team and the team looks to get back in the postseason after missing the playoffs last year.

"They adapted well and I have very good senior leadership," Wood said about the team.

The Badgers return seven offensive and eight defensive starters from a team that went 3-7 last season, including a 2-4 district record.

Getting the ball to junior Kenneth Glenn will be key for the Badgers this season, meaning Glenn will move from quarterback to running back this season after throwing for 425 yards and four touchdowns to go along with 658 yards and seven scores rushing in 2011.

"It's going real good, he's made the transition well," said Wood about Glenn.

Philip Vaughan will continue to be a presence in the Badgers secondary after intercepting opposing quarterbacks seven times from the safety position last year.

The Nixon-Smiley Mustangs look to be in the playoff mix with a more experienced team in 2012.

Running back Miguel Hernandez and 5-foot-9, 245-pound offensive tackle Logan McMain look to duplicate the success of the Mustangs' wing-T offense. Nixon-Smiley averaged 30 points per game in district.

District rivals scored 33 points per game against Nixon-Smiley in 2011.

Instability has been the norm for the Bloomington Bobcats, but new head coach Layne Elkins hopes to change the culture of the program beginning in 2012.

"Our goals are no different from anybody else's in the state of Texas," Elkins said. "We want to win, bottom line."

Elkins is the program's eighth head football coach in the last 11 years. He was hired in May after serving as an assistant for three years at Cuero.

Running back and linebacker Ian Thompson will be relied upon this season for the Bobcats.

Bloomington is returning six offensive and eight defensive starters from a team that was 1-9, including an 0-7 district mark, in 2011.

The Bobcats have lost 51 consecutive district games and haven't had a winning season since 1998. Bloomington hasn't made the playoffs since 1999.

Karnes City


• Coach: Jim Wood

• Years at current school: 2

• Record at current school: 3-7

• Years as head coach: 5

• Overall record: 17-23

• Last year's record: 3-7, 2-4 in district

• Last playoff appearance: 2010, bi-district

• Returning starters: QB/CB KD Glenn, WR/FS Philip Vaughan, OG/DE Austin Block, LB Chance Leal, QB/OLB Garrett Liska, DT Zack Pawelek, OT Lucas Janysek, TE Steven Starnes, WR/OLB Devontrey Forth, CB David Glenn, LB John Garcia, C Nick Quintanilla.

1Phillip VaughanWR/DBSr.
2KD GlennRB/DBSr.
3Devontrey ForthWR/DBSr.
4Kolton WitteRB/LBSo.
5Dylan LopezWR/OLBJr.
6Dontrell LyonsWR/DBSr.
7John GarciaRB/DBSr.
8Dylan WrightRB/LBSo.
9Paul KinneyRB/DBSo.
10Garrett LiskaQB/OLBSr.
11Mauricia BlancoWR/DBJr.
12Allen CordawayWR/DBJr.
19Robert MorinWR/DBSo.
32Nick AdamsRB/OLBSr.
42Chance LealTE/LBSr.
44Jacob JanyeskWR/OLBSo.
50Elias EstradaOL/LBSo.
51Izzy HernandezOL/DTSr.
54Chayse LealOL/DESo.
55Nicholas GuzmanOL/DTSr.
56Zack PawelekOL/DTSr.
60Ronnie KinneyOL/DTSo.
66Austin BlockOL/DeSr.
70WEston BlockOL/DeSr.
75Aaron LopezOL/DTJr.
76Steven StarnesOL/DESr.
77Lucas JanysekOL/DTSr.



• Coach: Carlton McKinney

• Years at current school: 4

• Record at current school: 9-21

• Years as head coach: 4

• Last year's record: 5-5, 3-3 in district

• Last playoff appearance: 2005, bi-district

• Returning starters: FB/LB Jared Van Auken, OL/DL Lo gan McMain, OL/DL Robert Lopez, SE/FS Garrett Early win, TB/CB Miguel Hernandez, OL/DL Rioval Rodriguez, C/LB Jacob Perez, QB/FS Rodolfo Acevedo.

1Garrett Earlywine1SM/OLBJr.
3Nick PenaQB/CSo.
5Rudy AcevedoQB/OLBSr.
8Tristan NewmanTB/FSSo.
12Miguel HernandezHB/CSr.
16Tyler AlvarezSM/CSr.
20Justin RamosSE/LBSo.
30Sam ArceSE/DLSr.
32Jared Van AukenFB/LBJr.
34Jacob PerezFB/LBJr.
44Tom PalacioTB/LBSo.
50Logan McMainOL/DLJr.
54Rio RodriguezOL/OLBJr.
55Darren KaluzaOL/LBJr.
60Raul TovarOL/OLBSr.
64David MilesOL/DLSo.
65Edward PenaOL/DLSr.
70Phoenix MedinaOL/DLSo.
72Justin WolfOL/DLSr.
73Oscar TorresOL/DLJr.
77Warren LopezOL/DLSr.
80Marco HernandezSM/CSr.
82Devon WarzechaSE/OLBJr.
88Victor EvansSE/DLSr.



• Coach: Layne Elkins

• Years at current school: 1

• Years as head coach: 1

• Last year's record: 1-9, 0-7 district

• Last playoff appearance: 1998

• Returning starters: WR/DB John Mendez, RB/LB Ian Thompson, QB/DB Ruben Aguirre, OL/LB David Lla mas, OL Alex Aguirre, OL Zach Depine, OL Max Aguayo, OL/DL Tanner Cha vana, DB Josh Cantu, LB Nathaniel Sanchez, DE Joseph Martinez, DL Devon Pinon, DB Keanu Escamilla.

2John MendezRB/DBJr.
3Josh CantuRB/DBSr.
5Keanu EscamillaWR/DBSr.
7Xavier HernandezWR/DBSo.
8Kelsey OrtizWR/DBJr.
11Jacob HardeeQB/DBJr.
13Rolando HinojosaTE/LBSo.
15Rueben AguirreQB/DBSr.
18Mark HinojosaTE/LBFr.
20Lee ChaconWR/DBSo.
21Chris CabreraRB/LBJr.
23Joe MartinezTE/DLJr.
25David LlamasRB/LBJr.
27PJ ZendejasRB/LBSo.
33Quentin AlmaguerRB/LBSo.
36Nathaniel SanchezOL/DLFr.
40Andrew HannaRB/LBSo.
44Nick HinojosaRB/DLFr.
50Chance HermanOL/DLSo.
51Aaron AndradeOL/LBSo.
53Derek CabreraOL/DLFr.
55Alex AguirreOL/DLSr.
59Allan CabreraOL/DLFr.
60Devin PinonOL/DLJr.
62Zack DepineOL/DLSr.
72William HannaOL/DLSr.
75Tanner ChavanaOL/DLJr.
77Jerrimah KingOL/DLSo.
82Alfonso EnriquezTE/DEFr.
88Albert HernandezWR/DBJr.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia