DISTRICT 23-4A: Bay City must mature quickly to compete


Aug. 30, 2012 at 3:30 a.m.

Dan Burk has fought off health problems since taking over as Bay City's athletic director and head football coach and now he's ready to battle the rest of District 23-4A.

The Blackcats are attempting to snap a playoff drought that dates back to 2007 with only three starters returning on defense and one back on offense from last year's team, which finished 3-7 overall and 1-5 in district.

"The biggest thing is a lack of experience," Burk said. "We have tons of new coaches and a new system. It's just a matter of how quickly everything gels."

Burk sees Rosenberg Terry and Angleton as the district favorites.

"Terry has the most people back and that includes some big-time recruits," he said. "Angleton has lots of speed and is really dangerous. We're hoping that it will be a battle for the rest of us."

Burk was happy with the strides Bay City made during spring drills and hopes the improvement continues.

"We've got to have some young kids come through and perform," he said. "They have to mature fast. It's just a matter of how quickly we can put everything together."

Bay City


• Coach: Dan Burk

• Years at current school: 1

• Years as a head coach: 12

• Overall record: 63-58

• Last year's record: 3-7, 1-5 in district

• Last playoff appearance: 2007, bi-district

• Returning starters: DT Alex McClennen, LB Jadon Morales, CB Jalen Gee, OT Alex Palomares.

1Jalin GeeDBSr.
2Marcus PointerWRJr.
3Stacy MonroeRBJr.
5Albert AlamedaWR/DBSr.
6Jason BudausDBSr.
7Mar SelfQBSr.
8Da'Shawn SmithRBJf.
9Jerry ManningLBJr.
10Chance MuskietDE/TEjr.
11Jadon MoralesLBJr.
12Dylan PointerWRJr.
13Contrae WigginsDBJr.
14Titus FranklinWRJr.
15Larry CunninghamWRSr.
16Raymond Santa-CruzDB/WRSr.
17Al-Delwin NelsonDBJr.
18Humberto IbarraKSo.
19Zavian GarticaDB/QBSr.
20Sa'Darion EscobedoWRJr.
21Da'Qwan FranklinDBSr.
22Scott KauffmanKSr.
23David DeLaRosaRBSr.
24Anton BryantRBSr.
25Vincent PerezRBSt.
27Ty BatchelorWR/KSr.
28Zach CortezDE/LBSr.
30Jeffrey OrtiseDESo.
33Marcus DrakeDBJr.
34Jahkeial ClayLBSr.
35Stevie FranklinLB/RBSr.
37Karina ClementsKSr.
40Robert NaranjoKSr.
42Christopher SherrillDTJr.
43Victor BarreraDESr.
50Jose RodriguezOLJr.
52Robby ReynoldsOLSr.
55Alex DeLaRosaOLSr.
57Alex MacLennanOL/DTJr.
58Cristian VargasOLJr.
63Nicholas DowdleDTJr.
66DJ CaballeroDT/OLJr.
68Alex PalomaresOLSr.
69Victor AsencioOL/DLSr.
74Tyler PerezOLJr.
75Edward MartinezDTSr.
76Lorenzo HernandezOLSr.
77Mario LunaOLSr.
81Ge'rod AllenWRSo.
90Dustin CondryDESr.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia