School board members earn highest designation from TASB

July 6, 2012 at 2:06 a.m.
Updated July 14, 2012 at 2:14 a.m.

De Los Santos

De Los Santos

Two Victoria County school board members earned the designation of master trustee after completing the Texas Association of School Board's leadership program.

Estella De Los Santos, Victoria school board secretary, and John Cranfill, Bloomington school board president, are part of more than 700 school board members across the state who have received the in-depth training on every facet of effective board governance.

Along with the TASB's Summer Leadership program in San Antonio, they also heard keynote addresses from renowned education experts and picked up ideas from district showcases and networking opportunities.

School board members in the 2011-12 Leadership TASB class made presentations of their team's findings following year-long research. Class participants selected topics related to nontraditional approaches to challenges in today's educational enterprises. Their research focused on topics that included college readiness, student health, board leadership, funding inequities, 21st century classroom adaptations, and parental involvement.

The 2012 Leadership TASB class, composed of 31 school board members, represents school districts of all sizes and property wealth. Participants who completed all required elements of the study program earned master trustee status, the highest designation recognized by TASB.

TASB is a voluntary, nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local Texas school districts. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 4.9 million public school students.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia