Ricebird lands on first-team all-state

July 27, 2012 at 2:27 a.m.

El Campo's Greg Rod was the fourth player from the Crossroads to earn first-team All-State baseball honors. The senior second baseman was named to the Class 4A team, which was released Thursday.

Rod, a senior, hit .407 with 25 runs and 19 RBIs. He added eight stolen bases for the Ricebirds this spring. Rod joins Refugio's Travis Quintanilla, Schulenburg's Travis Bludau and Hallettsville's Marshall Hajek as first team selections from the Crossroads.

Victoria West pitcher and shortstop Miles Manning was a second team selection along with Rod's teammate Camden Green. Victoria East junior Trey Thormahlen was named to the third team as an outfielder.

Manning, the District 30-4A MVP, hit .507 with 27 RBIs, 23 runs. As a pitcher he was 9-2 with a 2.31 ERA. Thormahlen hit .452 with 21 RBIs, 26 runs and 23 steals.

Rockwall-Heath's Jake Thompson was named player of the year. Thompson was 12-1 with 165 strikeouts on the mound, while hitting .448 with 40 RBIs.

2012 TSWA All-Class 4A Baseball Team


Pitchers - Jake Thompson, Rockwall-Heath, sr.; Wyatt Mathisen, Calallen, sr.; and Phillip Orr, Lake Travis, sr.

Catcher - Steve Bean, Rockwall, sr.

First baseman - Jace Reese, Forney, sr.

Second baseman - Greg Rod, El Campo, sr.

Shortstop - Spencer Edwards, Rockwall, sr.

Third baseman - Hunter Melton, Corsicana, sr.

Outfielders - Tyler Neslony, Calallen, sr.; Blake Brom, Wichita Falls Rider, sr.; and Dylan Ebbs, Santa Fe, jr.

Utility - P/3B Willie Schwanke, Frisco Wakeland, sr.

Designated hitter - Jonathan Groff, Medina Valley, soph.

Player of the Year - Jake Thompson, Rockwall-Heath, sr.

Coach of the Year - Greg Harvey, Rockwall Heath


Pitchers - Joseph Gonzales, SA Brackenridge, sr.; Chris Gittens, Sherman, sr.; and Armando Arevalo, Calallen, sr.

Catcher - Jovan Hernandez, Rockwall-Heath, sr.

First baseman - Aaron Clemons, Whitehouse, jr.

Second baseman - Jorge Marroguin, Rio Grande City, soph.

Shortstop - Brett Boswell, Rockwall-Heath, jr.

Third baseman - Ronnie Gideon, Hallsville, jr.

Outfielders - Jayce Nelson, Port Neches-Groves, sr.; J.T. Gorski, Montgomery, jr.; and Hunter Jarmon, Waco Midway, jr.

Utility - P/SS Miles Manning, Victoria West, sr.

Designated hitter - Camden Green, El Campo, sr.


Pitchers - Kenny Saenz, CC Moody, soph.; Ryan Massetta, Randall, jr.; and Patrick Herbelin, Waco Midway, sr.

Catcher - (tie) Tanner Hill, New Braunfels Canyon, sr. and Abraham Martinez, Dallas Spruce, sr.

First baseman - Baker Mayfield, Lake Travis, jr.

Second baseman - (tie) Garrett Webb, Brenham, sr. and Michael Nuon, Whitehouse, jr.

Shortstop - (tie) Austin Schotts, Frisco Centennial, sr.; Dodrick Ranson, Dallas Spruce, sr.; and Kramer Robertson, Waco Midway, jr.

Third baseman - Alex Olvera, Rio Grande City, sr.

Outfielders - Trey Thormahlen, Victoria East, jr.; Blake Kopetsky, Rudder, sr.; and (tie) Jacob Walker, Hallsville, fr. And Preston Dorsey, Calallen, jr.

Utility - P/1B Ty Boland, Montgomery, jr.

Designated hitter - Jesse Valdez, Brazosport, sr.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia