Republican congressional candidate opens Victoria campaign office

Melissa Crowe By Melissa Crowe

March 13, 2012 at 5 p.m.
Updated March 15, 2012 at 10:16 p.m.

A congressional candidate is setting up campaign headquarters in Victoria.

U.S. Rep. Blake Farenthold will open his Victoria campaign office, 115 S. Main St., on Friday.

Wendy Herman, a spokeswoman for Farenthold's campaign, said the grand opening ceremony is open to the public.

The event is from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m., Friday, in Suite 101 of the Leon Building.

Because of the new redistricting maps, Victoria County is included in District 27 of the U.S. House of Representatives with Aransas, Calhoun, Jackson, Lavaca, Matagorda, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio and Wharton counties. The district also includes are parts of Gonzales, Bastrop and Caldwell counties.

Victoria County was represented by Ron Paul in District 14. That district included Brazoria, Calhoun, Chambers, Jackson, Matagorda and Wharton counties.

Farenthold represents Corpus Christi in District 17. He is running against Don Middlebrook, of Louise, in the Republican Party primary.

Steve Ray, a spokesman for Farenthold's campaign, said Victoria is "a strong, integral part of the district."

He said through their Victoria and Corpus Christi headquarters, the two main geographic and high-voter areas, the campaign will be able to serve all parts of the district during the campaign.

Victoria is "a solid conservative district and one Blake fits really well into," Ray said. "We want to make sure we're there and meeting all the people we can."

If Farenthold is elected in November, he will likely set up a permanent district office in Victoria, Ray said.

EDIT: U.S. House of Representatives District 17 has four Republican candidates for the May 29 primary election. Blake Farenthold, of Corpus Christi; John Grunwald, of Egypt; Don Middlebrook, of Wharton; and Trey Roberts, of Rockport.

The Democratic Party also has four primary candidates for the district, Ronnie C. McDonald, of Bastrop; Jerry J. Trevino, of Corpus Christi; Murphy Alade Junaid, of Corpus Christi; and Rose Meza Harrison, of Corpus Christi.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia