Local racing results wrap-up

March 26, 2012 at 9:02 p.m.
Updated March 25, 2012 at 10:26 p.m.

A number of area runners took to the streets this past weekend to compete in road races in the South Texas region.

There were 35 runners from the Crossroads area who traveled to Austin over the weekend to compete in the 35th annual Austin Statesman Capitol 10K.

This is the largest 10K in Texas and the fifth largest in the nation. This year's event attracted nearly 23,000 runners to participate in the 6.2-mile hilly run that takes place in the downtown area of Austin.

Scott MacPherson won the overall men's title with a time of 29:51, averaging a 4:48 per mile pace. Kara June won the overall female's title with a time of 35:02, averaging 5:38 per mile.

John Klemczyk was the top male finisher from the area with his time of 43:12, averaging 6:57 per mile pace and placing 16th in the 45-49 age category. Kathy Manning was our area's top female finisher with a time of 44:27, averaging 7:09 per mile pace and placing second in the 50-54 age category.

Here are the rest of the local results for the Capitol 10K: John Klemczyk, 43:12; William Chang, 44:13; Kathy Manning, 44:27; Michael Felchak, 45:11; Chris Wagner, 46:06; Leana Elliott, 47:11; Hassan Sabbagh, 48:59; Nacho Trevino, 49:33; Clark Motley, 51:51; Doreen Simmang, 53:47; Paul Polasek, 58:23; Susie Dorsett, 58:23; Renee Noonan, 58:24; Cindy Herrera, 58:31; Susan Sublett, 58:43; Eddie Carter, 59:20; Jacqueline Garcia, 1:01:17; Clay Whittington, 1:01:42; Dirik Malik, 1:01:51; Charlie Kouba, 1:03:13; Jimmy Salazar, 1:04:19; Kimberly Motley, 1:06:23; Nick Perez, 1:07:32; Jennifer Escobedo, 1:14:00; Debra Calica, 1:18:07; Jennifer Filla, 1:18:59; Sondra Mozisek, 1:19:15; Chrissy Wagner, 1:19:18; Erma Sierra, 1:19:18; Melinda Wesar, 1:20:42; Lydia Martinez, 1:21:54; Marie Whittington, 1:27:04; Michael Vondrau, 1:27:11; Fernando Moron, 1:30:39; Ross Elgood, 2:00:08.

The Memorial Hermann Sugar Land Half Marathon held its second annual road race on Sunday with nearly 1,000 runners competing in the 13.1-mile race.

Allison MacSas took the overall women's title with a time of 1:18:55, and the men's title went to Joe Thorne with a time of 1:08:08.

David Bayarena placed 25th in the 30-34 age group with his time of 1:57:44, and his wife Natalie Bayarena took 36th in the 30-34 female category with her time of 2:11:38.

Missy Janzow received her B.S. in Dietetics from Southeast Missouri State University and owns Fit4U, a personalized coaching and nutrition business that serves to train the novice or seasoned triathlete or runner. You can reach her for your questions at janzowml@yahoo.com.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia