Hyden takes lead in race for City Championship

March 27, 2012 at 10:01 p.m.
Updated March 26, 2012 at 10:27 p.m.

Brian Hyden had some anxious moments during his last game of team competition in this year's VUSBC Open City Bowling Tournament.

After starting with games of 215 and 224 and seeming to have a lock on the City Championship title, he struggled to a final game of 168. But that was more then enough for him to move ahead of the first week's leader Mike Stacy, who posted a 2,027 score.

Hyden finished with a scratch all events score of 2, 048 on sets of 607 (team), 693 (singles) and 748 (doubles). He also moved into first place in the handicap all events with a score of 2,096.

Tom Crowe is a recent arrival to Victoria, having moved from Colorado prior to last bowling season, and he enjoyed his first city tournament by taking the lead in Division I singles with a 738 series.

Last week's leader Brian Hyden dropped to second place. Mike Stacy rolled a 708 set to hold the third-place spot.

After having great success in the women's city tournament, Rebekah Martinez took advantage of the opportunity to compete in the open tournament and rolled a 707 series to move into first place in Division II singles.

Last week's leader, Israel Gomez (690), dropped to second place on the board. John Oswalt (689) is currently in third place.

Rebekah teamed with husband Ramsey Martinez to take the lead in Division II doubles with a score of 1,419. Ramsey led the way with a 721 series.

Last week's leaders, Gary McClain-Dennis Lovel (1,337) and William Jackson-Edmond Fingers (1,336), dropped to second and third place, respectively.

Korey Bryan (680) and Frank Suniga (714) still hold the lead in Division I doubles with their score of 1,394, which was posted during the first weekend.

Tommy Tanner and Brian Hyden (1,393) remain in second place. Bruce Luerssen (689) and Bo Kitchens (636) moved into the third-place spot with their combined score of 1,325.

The Uunderdogs maintained their Division I team lead from last week with their team total of 3,357. Team members and scores are Mike Unger (683), Abraham Flores (618), Israel Gomez (736), Ramsey Martinez (669) and Joseph Blount (651).

The team Travel Buds moved into second place with a score of 3,176. Team members and scores are Scott Snow (660), Darryl Mergele (675), Tom Crowe (670), David Matthews (570) and Mike Stacy (601).

The team Pit Crew (3,137) dropped to third place. Team members are Chris Martinka, Ben Hilbig, Matt Mathieu, Ray Rendon and Mike Osterson..

There are new leaders in the Division II team event with the perennial contenders Good Ole Boys moving into the lead with a score of 3,319. Team members and scores are Michael Sturm (618), John Schmidt (577), William Klacman (731), Arnold Scheffer (689) and Joe Simmons 704).

Bring the Noise moved into second place on the board with their score of 3,215. Team members are Rebekah Martinez (653), Samantha Wharton (679), Joseph Blount (584), Ramsey Martinez (588) and Victor Thomas (711).

The team Fire in the Hole posted a score of 3,098 during Saturday's competition for the third-place spot. Team members are Linda Cooper, Bobbie Long, Rae Cano, Ray Nickel and Robert Fissler.

Hyden leads Division I all events with his score of 2,096 and Tom Crowe moved into second place with a nice 2,069 nine-game total. Ramsy Martinez posted a 2,069 for third place.

Israel Gomez still maintains the Division II all events lead with his score of 2,096. Rebekah Martinez edged by Chris Martinka (2,057) for second place with her score of 2,058.

The tournament will conclude next Saturday with a team squad at 11 a.m. and singles/doubles at 3 p.m.

Listed below are good scratch scores bowled during Saturday and Sunday's competition.


Mike Stacy 279-762/259-708/648/601, Tom Crowe 288-714/257-691,646, Victor Thomas 236-684/626/245, Michael Conchola 248-670, Justin Tweedle 236-669/237-641/618/606, Mark Pahmiyer 663/602, Ramsey Martinez 235-646/604, Dave Erdelt 258-636, Darryl Mergele 638, Steve Zeplin 237-658, Steve Dickinson 237-655/648, Joey Matson 642, Joe Simmons 276-632, David Matthews 629, Bruce Luerssen 234-622, Mike Osterson 267-614, Abel Garcia 232-614/600, Bo Kitchens 611, Darren Blohm 609, J.P Reyna 232-607, Brian Hyden 607, Richard Thompson 606, Danny Reissig 604, and Scott Snow 601.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia