Victoria Advocate wins 19 awards in state editors' contest

March 31, 2012 at 9 p.m.
Updated March 30, 2012 at 10:31 p.m.

DALLAS (AP) - The Victoria Advocate won 19 awards Saturday in the annual Texas Associated Press Managing Editors contest.

Here are the newspaper's winners:•  Infographics, Robert Zavala, first place.

•  Best video of greater than a minute, Frank Tilley and Todd Krainin, first place.

•  Team page design, Scott Reyes, Meredith Cash, Camille Doty and Kassandra Lau, first place; Frank Tilley, Robert Zavala, Kayla Bell and Veronica Gonzalez, honorable mention.

•  Best video of less than one minute, Angeli Wright, second place and honorable mention.

•  Star Online Package of the Year, staff, second place.

•  Business reporting, Dianna Wray, second place.

•  News page design by an individual, Kimiko Fieg, second place; Lauren Hightower-Emerson, honorable mention.

•  Feature page design by an individual, Kimiko Fieg, second place; Robert Zavala, third place.

•  Feature series, staff, second place; Dianna Wray, honorable mention.

•  Star Designer of the Year, Robert Zavala, honorable mention.

•  Feature writing, Dianna Wray, honorable mention

•  Comment and criticism, Todd Krainin, honorable mention

•  Photojournalism, Angeli Wright, honorable mention.

•  Best blog, Chris Cobler, honorable mention.

The Advocate competed against Texas newspapers ranging in circulation size from 30,000-124,999. The convention continues Sunday in Dallas.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia