West's Miles Manning chosen as District 30-4A baseball MVP

May 14, 2012 at 12:14 a.m.
Updated May 15, 2012 at 12:15 a.m.

Victoria West senior Miles Manning was a unanimous selection as the Most Valuable Player of the All-District 30-4A baseball team chosen by the district coaches.

Manning hit .522 with four home runs, one triple, 12 doubles and 27 RBIs. He had a 9-1 pitching record with a 2.49 ERA and 68 strikeouts in 50.2 innings.

West's Manuel Alvarado was a unanimous pick as the Coach of the Year. Alvarado led the Warriors to a 10-0 district record and the team finished the season with an 18-9 record.

West freshman Koby Bynum was a unanimous selection as Designated Hitter of the Year. Bynum hit .364 with 16 RBIs.

Victoria East freshman Jonathan Ortega was named Newcomer of the Year. Ortega hit .450 with two triples, three doubles and 13 RBIs. He also stole nine bases.

Gregory-Portland junior Ty Fishbeck and Floresville senior Garrett Pollok were named utility players of the year.

West had six first-team selections, East had three and Calhoun had two.

West pitcher Austin Davis and catcher A.J. Kuester were unanimous first-team selections. They were joined on the first team by pitcher Michael Minkulenka, shortstop Zach Valenzuela and outfielders Seth Harrison and Jayce Serrano.

East third baseman John Garcia was a unanimous first-team pick. Pitcher Michael Garcia and outfielder Trey Thormahlen were also named to the first team.

Calhoun pitcher Zach Cruz was a unanimous selection and was joined on the first team by outfielder Devian Cantu.

The first team also included Gregory-Portland pitcher Ruben Martinez, first baseman Fred Flores, second baseman Travis Geiser and Floresville outfielder Matthew Roe.

West pitcher Shane Kallman, first baseman Colin Payne and outfielder Blake Staff were named to the second team.

East pitchers Christian Herring and Ryan Williams and outfielder Hunter Perkins were second-team selections.

Calhoun catcher Dustin Canales, first baseman Trey Alvarado and outfielder Royce Williams were named to the second team.

Earning honorable mention were second baseman Brooks Bynum and shortstop Garrett Rother from West, catcher Aaron Prado, first baseman Robert Gleinser, shortstop Tim Gleinser and outfielders Gabe Verduzco and Ryan Galvan from East, and second baseman Devean Ureste, third baseman Colton Kveton, shortstop Tristan Henderson and outfielders James Kremling and Joe Bargas from Calhoun.

All-District 30-4A

MVP: Miles Manning*, sr., Victoria West.

Newcomer of the Year: Jonathan Ortega, fr., Victoria East

Coach of the Year: Manuel Alvarado, West

Utility Players of the Year: Ty Fishbeck, junior, Gregory-Portland; Garrett Pollok, sr., Floresville.

Designated Hitter of the Year: Koby Bynum*, fr., West.

First Team

Pitcher: Austin Davis*, so., West; Zach Cruz*, jr., Calhoun; Michael Mikulenka, sr., West; Ruben Martinez, so., Gregory-Portland; Michael Garcia, so., East.

Catcher: A.J. Kuester*, jr., West.

First Base: Fred Flores, sr., Gregory-Portland.

Second Base: Travis Geiser, jr., Gregory-Portland.

Third Base: John Garcia*, sr., East.

Shortstop: Zach Valenzuela, sr., West.

Outfield: Devian Cantua, jr., Calhoun; Seth Harrison, sr., West; Jayce Serrano, sr., West; Trey Thormahlen, jr., East; Matthew Roe, sr., Floresville.

Second Team

Pitcher: Drew Clements, sr., Floresville; Benji Gomez, sr., Beeville; Christian Herring, jr., East; Ryan Williams, so., East; Shane Kallman, fr., West.

Catcher: Daniel Amador, so., Beeville; Dustin Canales, so., Calhoun.

First Base: Trey Alvarado, jr., Calhoun; Colin Payne, sr., West.

Second Base: Joe Rey Garza, jr., Beeville.

Third Base: Clay Blackwell, jr., Beeville.

Shortstop: Michael Rosas, sr., Beeville.

Outfielder: Tanner Geiser, so., Gregory-Portland; Royce Williams, sr., Calhoun; Hunter Perkins, jr., East; Blake Staff, jr., West.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia