Calhoun's Tiffany Castillo named 30-4A co-offensive POY

May 14, 2012 at 12:14 a.m.

Calhoun's Tiffany Castillo and Victoria East's Marina Rios and Lexie Elkins were among the award winners on the All-District 30-4A team announced on Monday.

Rios, a senior third baseman, was named the defensive player of the year, while Castillo and Elkins split the offensive player of the year award.

Victoria West junior pitcher Karly Rae Hoerig, senior catcher Kaylee Krawietz, senior shortstop Sevanah Campos-Reyes, junior flex player Gabby Garza and senior outfielder Emily Skipper were named to the all-district first team.

Victoria East senior first baseman Jennie Johnson, junior utility player Monica Salazar, senior designated player Kaitlyn Morgan and junior outfielder Jodie Garcia also garnered first-team honors.

Calhoun's Jade Alford and Brittany Dworaczyk were named to the first team at second and third base, respectively, while teammate Lauren Munoz landed on the first team as a designated player.

Senior pitcher Marissa Snyder, senior first baseman Summer Wunderlich, sophomore flex player Kayla McKamey and senior outfielder Hillarie Hill represent Calhoun on the second team.

West senior first baseman Daren Gallup, junior second baseman Suzette Garcia, senior third baseman Ashley Stockbauer and junior outfielder Allena Cannaday landed on the second team.

Sophomore pitcher Alisha Quinterro and junior outfielder Brianna Arguello made the second team for the Titans.

Calhoun's Darian Sanchez and McKenzie Zwerschke, West's Dearie Gallup and Priscilla Jimenez and East's Sabrina Suarez and Julia Stastny were honorable mentions.

Floresville's senior pitcher Victoria Bayer was named district MVP, and Gregory-Portland freshman third baseman Arabella Acosta-Cantu was named the newcomer of the year.

All-District 30-4A

MVP: Victoria Bayer, Pitcher, sr., Floresville New Comer of the Year: Arabella Acosta-Cantu, 3rd, fr., Gregory-Portland

Defensive Player of the Year.: Marina Rios, 3rd, sr. Victoria East

Co-Offensive Player of the Year: Tiffany Castillo, C, sr., Calhoun and Lexi Elkins, C, jr., Victoria East.

First team

Pitchers: Karly Rae Hoerig, jr., West; Amie Cisneros, jr., Gregory-Portland.

Catchers: Kaylee Krawietz, sr., West; Myrissa Sanchez, jr., Gregory-Portland.

First Base: Jennie Johnson, sr., East.

Second Base: Jade Alford, fr., Calhoun. Third Base: Brittany Dworaczyk, jr., Calhoun.

Shortstop: Sevanah Campos-Reyes, sr., West.

Utility: Monica Salazar, jr., East.

Designated Player: Lauren Munoz, jr. Calhoun, and Kaitlyn Morgan, sr., East.

Flex: Gabby Garza, jr., West.

Outfield: McKenzie Payne, so., Gregory-Portland; Alyssa Bates, so., Beeville; Emily Skipper, sr., West; Jodie Garcia, jr., East.

Second team

Pitchers: Marissa Snyder, sr., Calhoun; Alisha Quinterro, so., East.

Catcher: Kasey Tieken, so., Floresville.

First Base: Summer Wunderlich, sr., Calhoun; Daren Gallup, sr., West; Emily Applewhite, jr., Gregory-Portland.

Second Base: Suzette Garcia, jr., West. Third Base: Ashley Stockbauer, sr., West. Shortstop: Lauren Martin, jr,. Gregory-Portland.

Utility: Lauren Cook, sr., Floresville; Krystal Cuellar, jr., Beeville.

Flex: Kayla McKamey, so., Calhoun.

Outfield: Hillarie Hill, sr., Calhoun; Allena Cannaday, jr., West; Jaylee Fernandez, sr., Floresville; Brianna Arguello, jr., East.

Honorable Mentions

Calhoun: Darian Sanchez, jr.; McKenzie Zwerschke, so.

West: Dearie Gallup, jr.; Priscilla Jimenez, sr.

East: Sabrina Suarez, jr.; Julia Stastny, sr.

Gregory-Portland: Hannah Wilson, fr.; Marissa Ruiz, fr.; Brooke Sanderlin, so.

Floresville: Carla Ross, jr.; Kaitlyn Montoya, jr.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia