City Council's District 1 recount set for Monday

Melissa Crowe By Melissa Crowe

May 19, 2012 at 12:19 a.m.

Election officials will begin on Monday recounting the ballots in the District 1 Victoria City Council race.

Mayor Will Armstrong appointed the committee, which includes three pollsters from the county elections office.

"It will be final one way or another by 6 p.m. at the latest," Armstrong said.

The team includes Joan Conaway, John Figuero and Dorothy Rehak. Armstrong said he expects the team will do a good, fair job.

"I don't gamble, so I'm not going to lay odds," he said. "If it's a tie, they'll have another race. If there's a winner, I'll congratulate the winner."

After the final count on May 12, Denise Rangel lost her second term on the city council to Emett Alvarez with a vote of 383 to 380.

Rangel submitted her petition on Tuesday for a recount, which will take place at the county elections office, 111 N. Glass St.

The recount is closed to the public, but each candidate will be allowed one representative to observe.

Elections Administrator George Matthews said there will be only one recount team.

In the past, he said he worked with groups of three teams, which took about three hours to determine a final tally on a recount.

He was not sure of a time estimate on this recount's decision.

The team will examine the eight precincts' electronic results, early voting by mail and early voting in person.

Matthews said he does not anticipate any of the paper mail-in ballots will be called into question.

"Certainly, it's up to the counting team to look at those," he said.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia